We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place!”
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Overlooking the stream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Overlooking the stream
Outside living
Lounge, kitchen, utility room
Lounge/kitchen/utility room
Dining area
Master bedroom with flat screen TV and ensuite with freestanding bath
Master bedroom/ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with freestanding bath
Ensuite bathroom
second double bedroom with ample storage
Third bedroom with small double bed
Leisure Suite with heated pool, hydro-spa, sauna, steam room - complimentary use
Pool with lifeguard present
Games Room
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
MARINA AT WHITECROSS BAY
Double room
Creche
Master bedroom with ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just got back from a three night stay. The lodge is great, it's got everything you need for a comfortable stay. On arrival you are greeted with a welcome pack of coffee, tea, juice, wine etc which is a nice touch. It was my daughters first birthday and Margaret had left a happy birthday balloon, lovely personal touch. The weather wasn't great so it was nice to have somewhere warm and cosy to use as a base. All in all it's very hard to fault this place. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Many thanks for your wonderful review! What a lovely way to celebrate your daughter's first birthday. Would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMactavis...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the lodge near the lake. "Next left"”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Absolutely loved the lodge. Welcoming, warm, cosy, stylish, well presented, well equipped, clean, roomy, ; the list goes on.
One weeks holiday for 4 adults and 2 dogs in the 3 bed lodge was great. I think even with 6 adults there would still be plenty of room.
Appreciated a welcoming pack of coffee, sugar, tea, bread, wine and even a birthday balloon. Bedding, towels, sample shampoos / conditioners / soaps were all provided. Everything, everywhere was clean and in excellent condition.
A credit to Margaret the owner
Had a bit of a game trying to find the resort / park when following sat nav. However, the "great big sign" saying White Cross Bay next left did help.
Location was very handy for zipping along the lake to either Bowness or Windermere where we enjoyed some excellent restaurants / pubs.
Dogs enjoyed the very nice woodland walks with plenty of pooh bins available.
Staff at the main reception that is a 2 minute walk from the lodge where friendly ish and helpful ish. Managed to enjoy the boathouse even after queuing to place our food order and being informed of a 1 hour wait . When food did arrive it was served with a smile and actually tasted good. Also, on departure morning we all had great full english breakfasts.
Thought i was getting a bargain when paying £15 for a family pass for the pool with sauna, steam room and spa pool. However, the communal "wet" changing rooms and the empty spa pool was disappointing, also the 2 lifeguards who kept in the background did look strange when generally messing around. However, the sauna was good and the steam room was top class.
To match Margarets superb lodge and lake side beauty the reception / facilities may need to consider pulling their socks up.
Thanks to Margaret taking the "next left" was worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge open space
Liked least: The resort / parks facilities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for such an expansive and positive review on our lodge. As you know we do all the cleaning and laundry ourselves and our guests certainly seem to appreciate the little touches you do not get in resort owned lodges! I have taken very seriously your comments on the park and will personally speak to Toby the General Manager! He is an amazing manager and has made so many positive changes to both park and staff. Again thanks you and please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lodge - it was amazing!!
Liked least: Having to come home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for a wonderful review and also for your recommendations to others. These reviews are invaluable in helping future guest choose accommodation. Please come back!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jods16
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful lodge and a great park altogether. Very welcoming and great value for money !
From the moment i first dealt with lovely Margaret to the minute we left the gorgeous lodge i knew it was the right place to stay !
I could not recommend this gorgeous place enough !!
Thank you Whitecross, we shall definitely come visit again xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodge and Whitecross Bay itself. the park is amazing and so well looked after. I will pass on your comments to the staff there also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
thank you so much for taking the time to review Twa Dogs Lodge. I am glad you loved both the lodge and the park itself. The new management team are just wonderful - so helpful and friendly and the facilities are equally 5 star! Would love to see you back again. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the lodge. You certainly packed a lot into your stay and I am glad the dogs loved their time in the lodge. Would welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bluessp
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent and very comfortable”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It's very nicely done up and the hosts very helpful. The kitchen is furnished thoughtfully and comes with everything that you may need ( including a weighing scale!) they have enough board games etc to keep kids and adults busy if you decide to avoid the rains. The cottage is actually a part of a holiday home and is located about a mile from the centre of Windermere . Lots of nature trails nearby. The place also has a small convenience store. A special mention for the hosts. Thanks for everything. We really enjoyed the wine and the lovely herbs you planted outside

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodge. We loved the fact that you had enjoyed our herbs!! this is something we 'love' in a holiday home!! We take great pride in our lodges and is amazing to get positive feedback!!! Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing