We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
andyG088
Rothesay, United Kingdom

Bracken Howe Ambleside

Review of Lakelovers
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2017
A superb house for a family gathering.
The house has tremendous facilities, en suite rooms, a hot tub, Sky tv and is well equiped with crockery, kitchen equipment and is only a short walk from the centre of Ambleside
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review
Responded 9 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always good to hear that our holidaymakers have enjoyed their stays! We do hope that you will return in the near future for another great holiday !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£174
  • Agoda.com
    £174
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Lakelovers
£145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £145
  • Hotels.com
    £145
  • Tripadvisor
    £145
1.2 miles from Lakelovers
Free Wifi
Free parking
£219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £219
  • Hotels.com
    £219
  • Tripadvisor
    £219
1.4 miles from Lakelovers
Free Wifi
Free parking
£219
  • Expedia.com
    £219
  • Hotels.com
    £191
  • Vio.com
2.1 miles from Lakelovers
Free Wifi
Free parking
£195
  • Expedia.com
    £205
  • Hotels.com
    £195
  • Vio.com
1.5 miles from Lakelovers
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel over Lake Windermere
£230
  • Expedia.com
    £240
  • ZenHotels.com
    £204
  • Hotels.com
    £240
1.3 miles from Lakelovers
Pool
Restaurant
£320
  • Expedia.com
    £320
  • Hotels.com
    £280
  • Official Site
    £280
3.1 miles from Lakelovers
Free parking
Restaurant
£150
  • Expedia.com
    £195
  • Hotels.com
    £195
  • Trip.com
1.1 miles from Lakelovers
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£272
  • Expedia.com
    £272
  • Tripadvisor
    £272
  • Trip.com
1.4 miles from Lakelovers
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£307
  • Skyscanner.com
    £307
  • Agoda.com
    £307
  • eDreams
    £307
2.0 miles from Lakelovers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
680
133
58
46
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
680
133
58
46
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room welcome pack high standard short drive cottage property grasmere lakes pubs accommodation logs ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Just returned from staying in this beautiful top floor apartment in a perfect location in Ambleside to be able to access the village and all the fantastic walks. The loft had amazing views, very airy and light, modern facilities but still managed to embrace the charm of the old building, with beams, log burner and stonework, creating a really romantic place. Loved it.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 865JulieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for your response and we were happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We do hope that you will return in the future for another great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Customer service and cleanliness were terrible. Upon arriving we discovered old tissues down the side of a bed, a half eaten toy under a sofa and other signs of lack of cleaning but decided to look over it until one morning we had no water in the taps and the 'emergency/out of office' contact number was turned off and failed to return our message. We also emailed and when I got a reply it was address to someone with a different name and title ( this occurred on two occasions ) with poorly written replies. My partner and I had to leave early and on checking the room for our beongings discovered an article of clothing and really thick dust down the back of bed . ...when I sent the next complaint they took an entire week to email back that they were sorry and would tell house keeping.
In addition we stayed in Boxwood Cottage and the garden is not attached to the property or insight from any of the property windows, despite no mention of this in the description.
It is a shame but I would not recommend them to anyone and will not be using them again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank C3654GUsarahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Hopefully the issues you raised were covered in the recent complaint response we sent yourself. We are very sorry that you experienced a couple of issues with cleanliness on arrival but as we were unaware of this until later in your stay we unfortunately were unable to attend and rectify these issues. We do hope however that you did enjoy the all the Lakes had to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We booked for a family and as we had a place with a washing machine we took limited clothing. To find the washer didn't work and flooded the apartment under us. We reported and a worker come out on the Saturday. We phones the office on the Monday to be told no reports had been made. (Funny how a man turned up on Saturday, ) we got told to use a laundrette 2 villages over and nothing could be done, Tuesday as we relaxed round the river workmen turned up to cut down trees all day this went on till 8-9 on the night. We also shared the car park with a vodka warehouse, vans in and out all day. So not a relaxing holiday, we did get offered £50 of the same cottage again if we wish to book again. The place needs to be cleaned and redecorated an we had to clean tea stains and clean dishes before we could eat, paint work is all just bodge jobs, £750 a week it's a joke

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We were sorry that your stay was marred by a couple of issues. Please accept our apologies over the confusion when you rang our office regarding the washing machine. As was mentioned, the tree works were outside our control as they were being undertaken by a 3rd party. We appreciate the combination of issues caused inconvenience and we are very sorry that this was the case. We do hope you will return to the Lakes in the future for a trouble free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Excellent cottage for 2 and the dog. Long lawned garden and a small patio outside the back door all enclosed so great for the dog to roam around. Cottage was clean and airy with a modern feel with all mod cons. Space for the car to be parked outside. Walking distance to Waterhead (by Windermere) and Ambleside. Building site opposite at the moment but doesn't detract from the cottage itself and the great holiday we had. Easy to book and regular contact with lakelovers.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kevinogrady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your review and we were glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. We do hope it will not be long before before we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Unfortunately we were very very disappointed in this holiday house. You could forgive the tired decor and wonky floors (and three breasted lady painting) if everywhere was emaculate and clean. This was not the case. The house has not been kept to a good condition and is dirty throughout. Floors, table cloth, toaster, washing up bowl, glasses and plates, pillows, draws, carpets, walls, shower heads, all dirty and worn out. Wardrobes smell damp and mouldy and some rooms have hardly any storage at all. We actually bought new pillows the night we arrived. It is clear that the house is not cleaned thoroughly when the cleaners come in each week and I would advise the owners to come and inspect their work and employ a new company. The website says suitable for children and babies, I have an 8 month old and trying to put her to bed has been challenging because the curtains are so light that the room is like daylight. Blackout or darker curtains would be better. Plus no stair gates are available and providing a high chair was £10, which we refused out of principle. When we arrived there was actually a highchair there but it was disgustingly dirty so we didn't go anywhere near it. Also the WiFi isn't great.

The house also advertises a table tennis room, summer house and tennis court, you can use the table tennis room at least if you don't mind filthy carpets and an unwashed table. The summer house however has ripped up chairs and rat poison in the corner which is easily accessible to children. Plus, you guessed it, it hasn't been cleaned since it was built however many years ago. The tennis court has a broken down shed with broken tennis rackets and balls that have been there since the dawn of time and a shed with a pile of earth in it which clearly houses many families of rats or mice. The court itself is great if rackets and balls were provided. The garden is lovely but unkept and has a greenhouse which has old wires and bits in it which again are completely unsafe for children. The pond is a puddle with leaves in it.

We have stayed in many houses over the years in the dales, lakes and peaks and not once have we felt the need to phone up and complain but we did here. The company Lakelovers did come round and replace the toaster and washing up bowl, plus the cleaners came back but as mentioned it's a long time of neglectful cleaning and this made no real difference.

For the price this house is really not worth the money and I would advise staying elsewhere which is a shame as the house could be so nice if it was taken care of as its in a great location.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your review, albeit we were concerned to read your views which differ from our assessments. We believe the issues you list were addressed swiftly (on the day of the report) and having made this visit to the property we were satisfied that the property is in perfectly good order with strong underlying practices for cleanliness. In fact, the Visit England inspection in February 2017 commends the regular cleaning practices as reaching 5 star standard throughout the property with these comments written in the report: ‘The excellent housekeeping standards are a credit to the owners and the housekeeper’, ‘bathrooms were gleaming’ ‘ kitchen offered excellent levels of cleaning’ ‘bedding offered excellent level of freshness and presentation’ and so on. Please also see on our website more than 20 positive recent reviews for this property. On rare occasions we re-attend properties to attend to concerns and we consider this timely ‘no quibble’ response to be very suitable. We can confirm that both the summer house and tennis court are as seen in our photographs whilst the greenhouse is not an advertised facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews