We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place ”

The Boathouse Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Boathouse Bar & Restaurant is located at Windermere Marina and is open to the general public. Serving breakfast from 9am, food is served all day with last orders at 9pm. The bar is open until 11pm.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place ”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Eaten here a few times and always enjoyed everything I've had! The pizzas are huge and very tasty, I love the spicy pizza and it's never a problem when I ask to add some rocket on the top. The restaurant has a lovely layout, I love sitting outside when it's warm enough and lucky enough to grab a table. Would definitely recommend, and it's a nice little walk around cockshott point to get there from bowness too!

Helpful?
1 Thank megan_lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    35
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Standards slipping”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I agree with recent reviews - lovely staff but it's all too slow and they do seem to keep getting the order wrong . As a berth holder on the marina it's disappointing

Helpful?
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal again!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Love it here, recently been for a meal which was lovely and well priced; for afternoon drinks and snacks on the verandah and for breakfast which was great! We'll be back again soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahqemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Not greatly impressed with the service. Who only puts one person behind the bar ona bank holiday for starters? Food order clearly miss laid, which happens from time to time I accept. But I would have more respect if they admitted it rather than pretend otherwise and argue with me after serving half cooked fries and pizza 1hr15mins after serving a starters and deeming it normal service when they are busy. Perhaps they only have obe person in the kitchen too!. Credit where it is due, they did take yhe pizza off the bill, but only after I asked. Not impressed, which is a shame given the fantastic setting. Complacency given a captive audience perhaps.?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenage
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Given that we are staying only feet away I really wanted to make use of the bar/restaurant but the property is a little sterile and soulless. Combined with £4.75 each just for a pint on our initial visit to check it out we wont be coming back.

A little more common sense on the pricing and I'm sure you would get significantly more trade from the self catering properties nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Boathouse Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing