We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take away in Bowness”
Review of Vinegar Jones

Vinegar Jones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$150 - US$800
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Traditional British fish and chip takeaway with eat in facility. Butcher Shop pies, sausages and burgers. Vegetarian, Halal and Gluten free meals available. Fresh fish and potatoes prepared in house. Watch your meal being prepared. Family owned and run. Free wifi, hot drinks machine and bathroom facilities.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wasn't expecting much from this take away in the centre of Bowness on a bank holiday Sunday, but was very impressed. I ordered scampi and chips, and both ingredients were cooked perfectly. While waiting for the food, the waitress commented that the scampi were really good and that they came from Whitby. They certainly were the best scampi I have tasted. Yes it's a high throughput operation in a tourist trap town but the staff were working hard and seemed well organised to me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Filler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. This is what the whole team are working towards. If you ever return please print out this response and we will give you an adult meal for free or every meal purchased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 512 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

we visited vinegar jones on Saturday night, 23/08/14. the place felt like it was being run by children, plenty of them but no leadership and everyone just bickering and arguing with each other, I'm surprised an order finally got put together. the chips were definitely not worth waiting for, substandard food for an establishment in the heart of the lake district. I don't expect the manager to do much about it, all his answers to the bad reviews on this site say that further training will be taking place. You need staff who want to be there to do a decent days work for their pay. I feel your staff turn up for the paycheck and that's it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markjen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Your complaint is to be printed out and pinned to the notice board in the staff room. As we work to source everything fresh and artisan made, we are very disappointed that the point of sale is so lacking. Many members of the team are indeed students and it is a summer job. However, this is no excuse for their attitude and yet again a meeting will be held and customer service reaffirmed. We offer you a full refund with this response. Many apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Food was excellent just a shame about the staff and there lack of customer care and politeness. We ordered food and paid and then stood waiting for 15 minutes without any communication from the staff on how long our food would be. They were cooking the fish cakes to order but we did not know this. When it was finally ready the so called cook apologised for the delay. I said it was fine but would of been nice to have been told when the order was placed. The young girl serving with him said we can't please everyone. This was totally unacceptable and she continued to be very rude. It's a shame about the staff as the food was very nice but would not visit there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Many apologies behaviour of this kind is unforgivable and team members in question will be reprimanded. Our team meetings are all about the customer and that service is the most important part of our business. If you do return please bring this response and we will refund in full your meal. We hope this goes some way to appease your complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a great fish and chip shop in the centre of Bowness. No complaints good old fashioned fish and chips, not greasy. They have toilets which is great as most don't. They also have upstairs and outdoor seating which is really nice. The price was reasonable and the portions were good I really liked it. Especially sitting outdoors on the Royal Square relaxing watching people pass by. Just let down by one of the female staff working the till very short quite rude.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LloydTranquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We work actively to keep the standard of our food, using only fresh fish and preparing our own locally sourced potatoes. This takes time and effort and we are so pleased when we gain this type of reaction. Please print this out and receive a free meal for every meal purchased on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

As above suggests! Very over priced and under filled portions. Absolutely disgusted at paying £2.70 for a 'large' portion to open them and find a portion less than standard sized anywhere else. Food ok but as a whole will not return.

1  Thank Pcoates84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakesWaterTiger, Front Office Manager at Vinegar Jones, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to hear how you had not been correctly served. Print this out and get a full refund. In the height of the season mistakes are made but we feel our customers have every right to be reimbursed. Apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinegar Jones also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Vinegar Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing