We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of #4

#4
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Owned by the same family for 30 years - only using local suppliers from within a 5 mile radius including bakers, milkmen, butchers and fishmongers. Even the coffee beans are roasted and blended by a local supplier.Producing traditional home-cooked British fayre including Fish & Chips, Stew & Mash, Burgers, Grilled Meats, Salads, Soups, Toasted Sandwiches, a multitude of Breakfast dishes, plus a selection of Daily Specials.Facilities include high-chairs and a changing station for babies, central heating, newspapers, music, and free Wi-Fi for customers. We are also dog friendly and overtly welcoming to the biking community.Our aim is to provide a relaxing and homely environment for customers, delivering good old-fashioned home cooking at an affordable price but with a passion.We also sell fantastic coffee and great wines - just ask the customers who have been returning to us for each of the 30 years we've been in business.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We recently went to #4 for lunch on our last day in Windermere. There were 6 adults and 4 children (including our 13 month old twins). Nothing was too much trouble and our order came out relatively quickly. Excellent food and service. It's a shame we only found it on our last day! We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Irwin_barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    67
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best coffee, food and atmosphere in Bowness”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were in the Lakes for a week before we found this fabulous place. Initially we popped in for coffee and cake. The coffee is AMAZING, I was so happy as until we found #4 I had given up trying to find good coffee in Bowness. The homemade cake was incredible too, we can especially recommend the homemade flapjacks!!! In our second week we went back three more times and enjoyed a delicious breakfast and evening meal. We have a ten month old son and the fuss made of him was truly heart-warming. On each arrival he was given a box of toy dinosaurs and cars which mesmerised him resulting in his dad and I having the most relaxed coffee we can remember! Also upstairs they have a toy train set for children to play with. Our son is allergic to milk so the owners kindly went onto the internet to check that their products we were requesting were milk free.... all of this was off set with being served by a kind and fun family!!!! As you can tell we were hugely impressed and highly recommend that you make sure #4 is on your 'must visit' list when in the Lake District.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“#1 in the Lakes!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Tried daily since Monday to grab a free table. Lucky enough to get one outside today and boy was it worth the wait! Already had a good idea of the welcome to expect having read the reviews on here, and wasn't wrong. In the blink of an eye, Monty (out miniature Schnauzer), had a bed laid out for him, and a plate of treats, followed by a freshly cooked (locally sourced!) sausage, so was one happy little lad.
As far as our food was concerned, faultless. WIthout exaggeration, I had the tastiest (and biggest!) Club sandwich ever. My son had a "lush!" BBQ chicken and bacon ciabatta, whilst the girls opted for the rather tasty looking sausage butties, which went down a treat.
Despite this being more than enough for lunch, we couldn't resist the home baked desserts, split between the fruit scones (fresh from the oven and still warm) and the moreish chocolate cake, washed down with a round of damn good coffees and hot choc.
If you're in Bowness and looking for cracking lunch and great hospitality, then make sure you visit Keith and Sandy at #4.
Would we return? Hell yes! We've only one day left in Bowness before heading home, and the kids have insisted we make it 2 days in a row.
Don't forget to leave a review too once you've been. People are too quick to write and have a whinge (usually unfounded too) as you'll see from the "hot choc/laundry", " wifi don't work" and "soya milk" reviews). I have travelled a lot for business and eaten in a variety of places throughout the country, yet this is the first time I've felt compelled to leave a review on Tripadviser. If you enjoy your visit too, then make sure you take 5 mins of your time to give these guys the credit they deserve!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful brekkie”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Bowness 4 years ago & loved this cafe so on our visit this year we decided to try it out again. We were definitely not disappointed. The food choice was fab & very reasonably priced. I chose bacon & eggs which was absolutely delicious & I love the fact that they use all locally sourced produce. The service was friendly & efficient and the whole experience was very enjoyable, including the chat with the lovely couple at the next table. We will be returning!!

Helpful?
Thank nickyfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Yukk”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Only popped in for a tea with soya milk. The milk was off. Thick and smelly and off. If they let their soya milk go beyond it's best by date, goodness knows what else is lurking in their fridges. If it was my venue, I'd have been mortified and refunded at the very least, but no, a brief apology and fresh brew was all that I was given.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
31 Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed #4 also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to #4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing