We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly Confident Coffee House”
Review of Pj's cafe - CLOSED

Pj's cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Stoke on Trent
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Quietly Confident Coffee House”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

In search of a quick drink whilst wandering round Bowness, we came across PJs in a row of units set back from the road. There was some seating outside, along with a number of tables inside.

Pleasantly decorated, with a choice of different tables, and a comprehensive menu, we ordered a selection of drinks that were all promptly brought over. The gentleman who took our order was a little brusque, however it was quite early and I think we were perhaps one of the first customers of the day! Although we only had drinks, the cakes in the display cases looked delicious!

Think additional signage might help this little cafe get a bit more custom that it certainly deserves.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best scone ever”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely place very friendly staff and quick service. Best scone ever ....................................

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fantastic large breakfast”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very good service in particular Victoria suggested things to do locally and one of the nicest breakfast with great sausages and thick bacon all made for my ideal breakfast

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roddsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little gem away from the crowds ”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We visit the lakes regularly throughout the year and like to pop into Pj's cafe when we are in Bowness. It sits at the top of the hill and is away from the crowds wandering around by the lake so it's nice and peaceful but there's still plenty going on, so if you sit outside its great to people watch! We sit inside or outside depending on the weather, they have parasols outside to keep you in the shade when it gets too hot (even in the Lake District!).
The menu has lots to suit even me who is a the fussy eater, my partner recommends the extra large breakfast as it fills him up for the rest of the day! They always have a minimum of 2 home made soups on which are gluten free and some fab homemade cakes and scones. The prices are good too!
We have always found the service excellent, the owners and waitresses are always polite and friendly so I am surprised at the previous review. We will be back in February half term and are looking forward to a coffee and a cake amongst other things no doubt!!!

Helpful?
Thank tot72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Menu items unavailable and staff 'couldn't care less' attitude”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Drawn in at 1.30pm by temporary sign offering cream teas with 'lashings of cream'.
Order from menu:
Vanilla milk shake - not available
Soup - lukewarm. Bread not ordered - next door table complained that it was stale.
Cream tea - no cream available. Only available jam was sour cherry.
This was our first negative experience in 30 years of visiting Lake District cafés.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armitage6785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pj's cafe also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing