We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing trip”

Windermere Lake Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Windermere Lake Cruises is a leading tourist attraction in the heart of the Lake District on England's largest lake. Steamers and Launches sail daily throughout the year with Summer season connections for The Lakeland Motor Museum, Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway,Lake Aquarium, the Lake District Visitor Centre at Brockhole, Fell Foot Country park, Wray Castle and Ferry House (with connecting sevices for Hilltop and Hawkshead). Combined tickets are available. Windermere Lake Cruises offer more than a ferry service. We hold private charters, lunch cruises, buffet cruises, corporate hospitality, public sailings and group travel. The perfect all-weather attraction.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A great way to spend a few hours and good value however' if you decide to get off and spend time in one of the stops, be careful which steamers you choose as some of them are better than others. Our return boat was much smallerer and the Owens filled it up so it was rather cramped. Only 1 of the two toilets was working so consequently the one loo was not clean. Unfortunately my 7 year old really needed to use it so we had no choice but it was not a good experience!!!! The cruise and staff however were lovely.

Thank Swaff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Public Relations at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Many thanks for your review of our attraction. I'm very pleased you and your family had a relaxing trip & found our cruise & staff lovely. I apologise for the unacceptable condition of the toilets. All our onboard facilities are regularly checked by our crew throughout the day & I can assure you any out-of-order are very promptly fixed as soon as the boat reaches our piers.
I hope you and your family choose to sail with us again & have a much more pleasant "loo" experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,560)
There are newer reviews for Windermere Lake Cruises
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,925 of 2,564 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The boat trips are mostly very relaxing with great scenery. Usually you get a commentary telling you about the surrounding are and points of interest but i recently took an island cruise and there was no commentary which was very dissapointing. The boats are alway clean and the staff are always helpful.

Thank thirstytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Public Relations at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Many thanks for your review of our attraction and all the lovely positive comments you've made about our cruises generally. I am however very baffled by your comments regarding no commentary on your visit. I have checked with our Operations Department & they are equally as baffled as no-one recalls an island cruise sailing anytime recently without a commentary.
Most of our scheduled sailings do involve a commentary of some kind rather it is recorded or personally delivered by the skipper. Unless there was a problem with the microphone or PA system at the time, but the skipper & crew should have let the passengers know.
I sincerely hope you visit us again soon and find everything in order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We bought 2 Freedom of the lake pass for £18.50 , whilst that seems expensive we did the whole tour, Ambleside to bowness, a wander around bowness then back on to Lakeside, we decided not to get off at Lakeside and stayed on the boat for the 40 min return trip due to the weather being brilliant. Agin we disembarked at bowness again for refreshments before retirn to Amblesdie to also go to Wray Castle.

Its a wonderful relaxing way to do the lake and we must have spent 4 hours relaxing on the boats. Wonderful day especially in the sunshine.

Thank alandt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Public Relations at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our attraction & five star rating. As you so rightly pointed out, £18.50 might seem a bit expensive at first glance but considering you can enjoy 24 hours of unlimited cruises- its actually quite a bargain! I hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

ferries plentiful never had to wait, clean with very helpful crew. commentry could have been a bit more informative

Thank paulineshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Public Relations at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review of our attraction. We're so pleased you had a relaxing cruise.
We find the length & content of the commentaries of very subjective with each reviewer- some think they're too long, some not long enough. But we value your feedback & will bear it mind.
I hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A superb way to take in all that Lake Windermere has to offer with a healthy offering of facts and figures along the way. We had a Lake District ranger sailing with us and he was extremely knowledgable about the lake and the houses/areas that surrounded it. Only gutted we didn't try the evening buffet cruise! Maybe next time!

Thank jjs2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere L, Public Relations at Windermere Lake Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five star rating of our attraction. Our Discovery Cruises with a Ranger run every Wed in Summer school holidays- check our website for dates, time and more info. I sincerely hope you can join us again sometime in the future for our Summer Evening Buffet cruise- you wont be disppointed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windermere Lake Cruises also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Windermere Lake Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing