We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dene House
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$303
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$253
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$277
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$426
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
US$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$171
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
518
57
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
518
57
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bon arrivalhomemade shortbreadwine glassesmini fridgeyogurtwarm welcomesuperior roomoffered teatown centresingle roomguest housefew minutes walkbreakfast roombreakfast was deliciouslovely housethe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Ian was a very welcoming host, the house is absolutely beautiful and our room was great!...oh and breakfast was one of the highlights of our trip! Its well located with just a short walk into Bowness. Ask Ian for recommendations on where to eat (we didn't the first night and really regretted it! Head to The Albert for a great meal). Our Superior room was huge and the decor is lovely. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicksterl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my wife's birthday for 2 nights. Ian was a very genial host. We stayed in a room on the first floor which had a lovely comfortable bed and a small but well formed en suite with an excellent power shower. The TV was in a peculiar position due to wallspace ( perhaps an angled wall bracket would help?) no DVD player but we just streamed movies on my laptop using the excellent free Wi-Fi connection.
The only slight problem was the fire alarm which went off when the owners weren't home. Myself and several other guests could not reach anyone on the emergency numbers posted on the door for almost an hour. ( I have a very low tolerance for loud noise as it brings on migraines ) We eventually got In touch with the owner who returned and reset the alarm which almost immediately went off again, unfortunately he had left the premises again and had to be called back for a second time. I had a bit of a moan to Ian the owner and within a few minutes a discount voucher for another stay was slipped under our room door. ( although no offer of a discount for the current stay )
Also the breakfasts were excellent. Overall a very good B and B in an excellent location.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank SilvioDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Absolutely first class hotel and hosts. The hotel is in a wonderful quiet location yet within 5 mins walk of the lake and town centre. The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. On arrival we were offered tea and shortbread by the host whilst we unpacked. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and there was plenty of choice. Could not fault this place at all and would certainly recommend and stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

my wife and I stayed at this B @B for one night in November, we were warmly welcomed by the owner, had fresh tea and cakes provided for us.The acomodation was faultless, breakfast superb,and its location was ideal for touring the lake district,we have stayed in hotels which boasted 4 stars, but didnt even come close to Dene House.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katysw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed at DH for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago. Very friendly hosts, clean and comfy room (albeit a tad on the small side but we knew that when we booked so not an issue), great location and very good breakfast. Not a lot else to say really. Definitely recommend and will stay again next year.

Room Tip: Room 7 is small but perfectly adequate if you're not planning on spending lots of time in your room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews