We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Dene House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dene House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and each time is better than the last Jenny and Ian really make you feel at at home the food and service are second to none i would recommend staying here to anyone who want a nice friendly holiday. Its only a few mins from the bars and restaurants and the lake. We had a really great few days there.

Room Tip: Ground floor difficult walking up stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Dene House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just come back from two lovely nights in the lakes, fabulous weather friendly accomodation. Location perfect for all the bars annd retaurants. reccommended the albert by owners had a fab meal there and baileys coffee to die for. Lisa who works at the dene is lovely and hosts friendly too. Gorgeous home made banana bread and coffee on arrival fab power shower in room must admit wish we had the downstairs room which I thought I had booked. Spotlessly clean only thing to mention larger bath towels would be nice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julieholowko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our first visit to Dene House, and were welcomed instantly by our wonderful hosts Ian and Jenny. The location was easy to find, only a few mins stroll to the bars, restaurants and lake. The rooms were finished to a high standard with lovely power shower, and the full English breakfast the following morning was delicious, setting us up for the day ahead. We definitely want to be returning here again very soon. Thanks again Ian and Jenny :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

2nd time i have stayed here, Perfect Room, Perfect Breakfast, Perfect Location, will be returning. The Guest House is central close to all Bars Restuarants and 2 mins away from the Lake. The rooms are big, clean and nicely decorated with lovely bedding. The owners are very helpfull.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shar1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was a great find, so close to the center 3 minutes walk and lots of off road parking. We received a very warm welcome and we even received gluten free biscuits and fresh tea on arrival which was very thoughtful. The Room we stayed in was room 2 and was light airy and immaculately clean. My only gripe was the softness of the bed which gave me back ache after two nights, I had to sleep with a folded towel under my lower back to help, possibly a new mattress needed there. The road was quiet at night so we heard no noise whilst sleeping and the breakfast was superb, they provided gluten free sausages and bread. If we are ever back in Bowness this will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Room 2 is bright and airy, but watch out for a very soft mattress
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashire_Freckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I chose this Hotel after seeing the rating on here and now I can see why it has such a high rating.

Email communication with the hotel staff was great before we arrived, I asked them for recommendations for somewhere to book for valentines night which they emailed back promptly, then also they asked what time we would arrive to ensure we got a nice welcome.

When we arrived we checked in and were asked if we wanted a pot of tea making up, a nice friendy gentlemen took our bags to our room, in the room there was some nice chocolates on then bed and then we came down for the tea, on the table we found a nice pot of tea but also some gorgeous fresh Scones shaped in a heart, with jam and cream.

The hotel was lovely and clean throughout and our room was modern and well decorated. The bed was sooooo comfy as well :-)

The hotel is in a great location, its a few minutes walk to the village centre so you are near to everything but also its lovely and quiet as not right on top of everything.

Breakfast on both the mornings we were there was lovely, all made fresh to order, I stuck to the cooked breakfast but my other half had salmon and eggs one morning which she said was delicious.

I always like to try and think of at least one improvement that could be made when I write a review, but I honestly can't think of anything at all.

We will be staying here again in a few years when we visit Bowness again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

It's our 5th visit to Dene House just booked out after a lovely breakfast. It's been a nice stay again made even nicer by the owners Ian & Jenny. We can't wait till our next visit hopefully in a couple of months

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene House

Address: Dene House Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £93 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Dene House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing