We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This should be number one!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
“This should be number one!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

When I booked last year to stay at Lingwood Lodge for this April (2011) it was number one on tripadvisor for the B and B's in Bowness On Windermere. I believe it should still be number one, as I could not see any improvements to be made anywhere. Perhaps as the Lakes demand such high standards somehow it has been bettered, but I can assure anyone looking for a clean, private, well decorated and thoroughly enjoyable stay that if you choose Lingwood Lodge you will not be disappointed. My partner and I were attending a wedding at the Belsfield Hotel to which Lingwood Lodge is very local, and offers a significant price difference to the Belsfield, for what I believe to be much nicer and more modern accommodation (the Belsfield no doubt offers lovely views and location is key to its pricing, but friends staying there said the decor and amenities could do with updating). Lingwood Lodge is friendly, accessible, and serves wonderful breakfasts to a high standard. I would not hesitate to stay there again. They can offer a family room and are a very competitive alternative to some of the bigger hotels that the Lakes has to offer. Conveniently located, the Lodge is not far from the Lakes' edge and the other shops and pubs local to Bowness. Ample parking is available.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolizbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
152
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Friendly Fab place to stay good access to all amenities within 5min walk to lake windermere, breakfast very good, clean & child friendly for families will definetly return. Thank you for making our stay very welcoming

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonaparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

This was the second time we stayed at Lingwood Lodge, after being so impressed by the first visit.

Again, the whole visit was very relaxing and the breakfasts were great! The location is good too, with Bowness town centre only being a 5 minute walk away. There isn't really much more to add from our first review which you can find here when we visited in November 2010.

Thanks again to Judy for those great breakfasts and warm service, we wil be back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay, everything about it was perfect. The room was emaculate, food delicious, great service and great location. We enjoyed our time here so much we stayed an extra night. On our next visit to the lakes we would definatley book Lingwood Lodge again!! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmblenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

just returned from lingwood lodge. perfectly run little b&b in a perfect location.
bowness town centre and lake windermere just 5 minutes walk away. hotel spotlessly clean with all the little extras thrown in that make this place stand out from the rest.
and the breakfast in the morning is the best breakfast i've ever had anywhere.
i will deffo be going back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

A great place to stay. On arrival we were quickly greeted & showed to our room, after a quick run down of the procedure we were left alone with no "in your face". The room was well set out with all of the quality of a top hotel. TV, DVD's, WiFi, Hairdryer, Kettle with everything possible to drink. Lovely clean decor, simple and elegantly done. The en-suite bathroom was adequate, unfortunately no bath but the shower was more than adequate and was very clean. Fresh towels and essentials were provided every day. The lodge is close to Bowness & easily walked to which means you can leave your car at the lodge saving on parking fees. The room was equipped with lots of information on the lodge & the Lake District area. Finally the breakfast was superb, a really good selection to suit everyone's tastes including Full English (cooked to order), Cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast and more. To sum up, you will get a hotel specification with a B&B price and comfort. Do not look any further, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karatemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We had an excellent stay. The room was immaculately presented and clean. Judy was very helpful. Breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared with a good choice.A great selection of DVDs to borrow. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazz057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Property: Lingwood Lodge
Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing