We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in great location”
Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in great location”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We got a last minute booking, the weekend of the airshow so were very lucky! Lingwood Lodge is in a great location - just minutes walk from the lake which is what you want as it means you can leave your car at the B&B - parking can be a problem in Bowness, particularly of a weekend.
Our room wasn't huge but was adequate, and the bathroom was a good size with a decent shower - girls with long hair will know how important this is! - towels were fluffy and white and bedding was lovely.
One thing which was thought out (again the ladies will appreciate this!) the location of plug sockets and mirrors was well thought out - you could actually dry your hair whilst being able to see what you were doing!
The breakfast was lovely - the homemade marmalade was gorgeous! and the coffee strong and hot. the cooked breakfast was made to order with good quality ingredients.
We loved our stay here and just wished it was longer. The only negative i had was the lilies in a vase on the landing. The smell gave me asthma but that is the only negative!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarelovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    18
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
176
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lingwood Lodge is fantastic. We have returned several times and it is always spotlessly clean with all the little extras to make us feel 'at home' , such as the hospitality tray which has bottled water and packs of biscuits in addition to the usual tea, coffee etc. There is a comfortable lounge for guests to use which has a large TV and a PC. The breakfast cannot be faulted - even smoked salmon with your scrambled egg if you wish.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived at Lingwood Lodge like drowned rats on what seemed to be wettest evening ever, we were still welcomed with open arms (well not quite) but the proprietor was fantastic as she kindly put all our wet gear into the boiler room. We were pleasantly surprised with the luxurious room and the fantastic views. The whole places is sparkling spotless which gave the B&B a 10/10 instantly for me…
Lingwood lodge is situated only a few minutes walk from the town which was fantastically convenient for the pubs & restaurants also the lodge has great parking facilities. The breakfast was absolutely marvellous with an unlimited choices for hot or cold meals along with homemade marmalade and so many other little touches which only enhances the whole experience.
We enjoyed two fantastic nights at the lodge and wished we had stayed for longer. We will highly recommend this B&B as we will defiantly be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room opposite the breakfast room on the ground floor which was lovely however can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalwadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Fab breakfasts. Only 10 minutes walk from Bowness. Parking for car provided. Rooms very clean and decoration tidy. The staff are very friendly. Free selection of dvd's to watch on those rainy days. In other words a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The room we had was a double on suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

was looking for good quality accomodation in or around lake district for long weekend.LINGWOOD LODGE ticked all the boxes.SUPERB.checked trip advisor reviews b4 booking as always & yet again reviews were spot on.judy & staff were excellent,house in very desirable position 5 mins walk to bowness lake ,restaraunts,shops,boating piers etc.big detached residence with lovely garden & fantastic summer bedding plant show.had room 4 at front of house with brilliant view of garden & can just see windermere lake through the trees,superb view,who needs a full lake view & pay 3 times more for the honour.room was spotless & everything one needs plus more,there is lots of little extras which made the stay a little more SPECIAL . breakfast of a very high standard,QUALITY ingredients,plentiful & very relaxed.judy very helpful in recommending bowness eateries,checked on trip advisor again & they also were brilliant(angel inn & robertos)both 5 mins walk away.i wish judy a full house every week because she has a well deserved 4**** bed & breakfast.JUST BOOK IT!

Room Tip: stayed in room 4 at front of house,brilliant view of garden lots of colour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hackney75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Wasn't really expecting much for a B&B but was genuinely surprised to find a great place! Would definitely go back!! Rooms were fresh & clean....loved the little touches like the DVD library on the landing for those rainy days...breakfast was amazing - fast and tasty!! The staff were lovely and friendly....very central location, 5 mins walks from the lake and town. Great view! Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I were a little wary when our daughter booked a one-room holiday cottage in Windermere and suggested we might meet up with her for one or two nights.
Lake district accommodation can be overpriced and disappointing; not Lingwood Lodge.
From the moment we received our booking confirmation email from Judy, our 2-day stay was everything you hope for from and B&B. Extending our initial 1-day booking to 2 days was no problem. There was a warm welcome when we arrived. The room was large enough and clean, the hospitality tray and the bathroom were nicely stocked. We were happy enough (although the traffic noise through open windows in the morning could be a bit obtrusive for a light sleeper), but then came the breakfast. As well as friendly, efficient service and all the usual choices in good quantities (and I'm not a fan of nouvelle cuisine), there was the most delicious, freshly-made fruit salad I've ever tasted in the UK. I hope to be back for more. Thanks Judy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoggypete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Property: Lingwood Lodge
Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing