We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb guest house, a real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb guest house, a real gem!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Lingwood lodge is a real gem and I can only echo what others have said. A clean and fresh place to stay with a comfy bed and lovely little touches including a very well stocked hospitality tray. Breakfast was served in an lovely room with plenty of choice and fresh local ingredients including a tasty fruit salad and home made marmalade. Judy, who owns Lingwood, works exceptionally hard and takes time to get to know you. I can't wait to go back and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorskhire_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
154
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Found Lingwood Lodge through tripadvisor and it lived up to all the great reviews. Judy was a lovely lady who was helpful and cooked a brilliant breakfast. Its five min walk to Bowness, very clean, modern and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor opposite the dining room. It wasnt a problem for us as we didnt want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuhotlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Only found lingwood after driving around looking for a last minute place to stay but so glad we found it! The whole place is well presented and is in a good location, 5mins away from bowness. The rooms are spotless, well decorated, with decent size en suites and fully stocked refreshment trays. Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide range of food on offer to cater for all. The staff were very welcoming and ensured that you had everthing you wanted. plenty of information in the rooms which was very useful in finding activities, walks and places to eat. would definately return and recommend to couples and families alike.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenC93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just had our 4th visit to Lingwood lodge and was superb as always. Rooms were spotless breakfasts were first class, location is great just walk down the hill and your by the lake. It was my husbands Birthday when we were there and Judy sorted out champagne and chocs which was a lovely surprise, keep up the good work Judy .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylclark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay at Lingwood Lodge and enjoyed it thoroughly! Chose Lingwood Lodge based on tripadvisor reviews and was thoroughly impressed. The rooms were spotless, large and well equipped. Well stocked hospitality trays, comfy beds and scrumptious breakfasts! Judy was lovely and exceptionally helpfu! Hoping to return again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We came across Lingwood Lodge via the Windemere Tourist Information Center, and did just wonder a bit as we drove down to Bowness,as we had not Trip Advisored it first.The location is good, close but not over close to the lake,we arrived to a very warm welcome at a very impressive property and things got better and better as we found our room to be spotless and very well set out. Bed very comfortable and breakfast next morning was first class and well presented.We are already thinking ahead to another visit in the Autumn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank che777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A one night stay only as we were just finishing the Dales way. A great way to end it. Excellent accommodation and superb breakfast. The best place we stayed. Much better than a hotel we had used at the beginning of the walk. Highly recommend it. Thank you for a great end to our beautiful walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Property: Lingwood Lodge
Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing