We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel ever stayed”
Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed here for one night (on the day after the bank holiday) and was impressed by the quality of rooms and the hospitality provided.
Some of the good points
- The rooms are very clean and modern, with comfortable beds and good quality amenities (see pictures)
- Breakfast is the best I had and the tables were set for us even before we enter the dining room (see picture)
- We were allowed to check in early and was given advice on where to visit, what to do, etc
- Parking is free
- It is just 5 mins walk to the jetty and town centre where you can take the ferry to explore Windermere.
A lot of effort is taken to make the hotel so presentable and also the guest to feel like home.
I was so impressed that I took a lot of photos, just see and you will get what I mean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

A 1 night stay at the end of our Dales Way walk. We were greeted by the owner with 2 bottles of beer as a celebration of the completion of our Dales Way walk and we were told that there was no charge! This epitomised the service ethic of the owners which was demonstrated again at breakfast the next morning. Tasty food and prompt delivery despite a full room of guests. Everything modern and bright with free wi-fi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonstevens3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just returned from another 3 night stay at Lingwood Lodge. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. wonderful breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble. We can't wait to return and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just returned from Lingwood Lodge after a 3rd visit to this warm and cosy establishment. Marvellous place, only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bowness, less to the lake. Car parking is available to all guests. The rooms are very modern and equipped with really comfy beds, free wi fi and flat screen TV. Dvd's are also available if you wish. The rooms are immaculately clean. Tea and coffee making facility offers not just one or two drinks but a vast array of choice. The rooms at the front have great views. Outside is a pretty garden with seating area and water feature...very relaxing.
Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts, an example of this is allowing you to park your car early.
There is also a lounge for guests
Breakfast is one of the best and easily equates to a 5 star establishment. There is a good choice including smoked salmon and scrambled egg at no extra cost. Fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, cereals and of course there is a very full breakfast.
We have stayed in many b&b's over the years and this one is certainly one of the best.
Would we recommend it?....yes provided the place is not full when we want to return.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank eyorkstigersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here in the Easter holidays with my husband and 3 year old daughter. An excellent B and B! Room for three was excellent, good size, spotless, TV/DVD and super selection or tea/coffee/hot choc/biscuits etc. The DVD library had something to suit most tastes and is very useful when you are travelling with little ones, watching 'Miss Potter' whilst in the Lakes was very appropriate! The breakfast selection was very good and cooked to perfection. Lingwood Lodge is a short walk from Bowness and is a great location for the pier to take advantage of Leisure cruises. The owners and staff were lovely and welcoming, they made us feel at home and were particularly kind to my daughter which made her feel very special and important. The walk up behind the B and B has fantastic views of the lake, its steep but my daughters little legs managed it and the view on a sunny day was breathtaking! Will definitely be going back and recommending to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguin1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Th hotel is located just a few minutes walk from lake Windermere in the Lake District, the lodge itself is a lovely family run business with just a few rooms. The decor was nice and clean with modern and new looking furnishings. There was even a DVD library that anyone could just borrow a DVD from. It is also in walking distance from the town with its shops and restaurants/pubs. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleDebono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Booked a single night for a birthday celebration. Was greeted by the owner who was the kind of person you feel immediately at ease with. The whole place was spotless and clearly well looked after. The room was very pleasant and with the windows open it was still peaceful. The bed was possibly the most comfortable one I've ever slept in and the morning breakfast was fantastic. All in all, can't recommend the place enough. They even have a selection of DVDs you can use in your room if you just want to chill out for a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_S_Slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
1.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £93 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing