We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, will return again soon.”
Review of Lingwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed at Lingwood Lodge for 3 nights with my husband and 6 year old daughter. Really lovely location 5 minutes walk from Bowness centre. Our room was a good size and had a king size double and single bed and was very roomy also the hospitality tray was very good everything from Kendal mint cake to chocolate mints, it had a great view and was immaculate, probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed in. Judy was lovely and the young lad who served the breakfast was really polite and helpful, food was first class and there was a huge selection to choose from. It also had a separate lounge with a large tv which our daughter loved, think she was the only person in there and it felt safe enough to let her sit in there for an hour and watch whatever she wanted on tv. In saying that we had 3 lovely days so didn't stay in much but imagine this would be a welcome extra on a rainy day. Cannot fault Lingwood Lodge at all and will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodgeandfranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights in late July and had a great experience.
With children of 13 & 11, finding room(s) isn't always the easiest but our family room here was very spacious, comfortable, airy and spotlessly clean. The property is perfectly situated a nice 5 minute stroll into Bowness.
Our breakfast included everything you could possibly want and a special mention here for the young lad waiting on us who is doing a great job!
Additional nice touches were being able to keep the car parked there for an hour or so during the morning of our departure, as we shopped for gifts in Bowness; also the girls enjoyed selecting and watching one of the many complimentary DVD's in a spare hour or so while the boys were playing pitch & putt!
When heading back to the Lakes again, we would definitely aim to stay here again. It'll be our first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve Spellacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We no longer search for accommodation when visiting Bowness as we don't believe we would better Lingwood Lodge. This was our fourth visit in over three years and the standard is still exceptional. The rooms / facilities are spotless and the kingsize beds are so comfortable. The location is ideal - less than a 5 minute saunter to Bowness Bay. Judy and Paul are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The menu for breakfast is substantial and your order is taken when you arrive for breakfast as everything is cooked to order. Before indulging in a full English breakfast or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs etc etc try the fresh fruit salad topped with yoghurt - it really wakes up your taste buds! Visit Lingwood Lodge, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Second time round and this place really is unbeatable. The welcome from Paul and Judy is what you get from close freinds and family with a real pleasant atmosphere all round. Rooms are immaculate, very high standard for a B&B, ample space, nice welcome book with tons of information on where to eat and what to do. They have a car park, are 5 mins walk from the town centre and about 3 mins to the lakeside. Beautiful location, excellent hospitality and super smashing breakfast service. We went for a boat trip, and many who travelled came back with awful reports of where they stayed! (Brooklands and Staggs Head seem to be the worst!). Lingwood Lodge really is a nice place to stay, and an excellent location, a home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebeard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at this amazing B&B in early July for 2 nights and we were impressed with the room and service offered here. There was also onsite parking.

The B&B is within 5 minutes walk from the town centre and Lake Windermere with its cruise boats. The town is very pretty with lots of restaurants, shops etc.

The room was average size on the 1st floor with nice decor and nicely laid out with a Queen bed, desk and flat screen TV, with many channels, and a DVD player with lots of DVDs to choose from. It has large windows facing the street with mountain views.
Internet, Wi-Fi or hard connection was very fast and free.

The bathroom was a bit small with a shower but with everything you would need.
Breakfast was lavish with lots of tasty food to choose from the menu including English breakfast.
If there is something I could complain about it is the block out curtains. They let too much light through in the morning and during this time of year it never gets really dark the whole night and that interfered with our sleep.

Judy and Paul are fantastic hosts and made sure we were very happy and comfortable during our stay. Thank you to you both.

Personally I would definitely stay here again if the room would have good block out curtains and I would have liked to stay here longer than the 2 nights that I did.

Pictures are attached.

Happy travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We have just come away from our second visit to this lovely B&B. I had to drag myself away! We returned here because our first experience was so great and it was as good as ever. The rooms are spacious, modern and spotlessly clean with a well stocked hospitality tray. The breakfasts are out of this world with plenty of choice, I had a full english on the first morning and smoked salmon and eggs the following day, both meals were gorgeous. You can also have fruit, cereals yoghurt etc. Very nice fresh coffee, toast and preserves. The hotel is perfectly located, just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Bowness where restaurants and shops are plentiful. Thankyou very much to our host Judy for making us feel so welcome. Cannot wait to go back, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

The over-riding impression of the Lingwood was the lack of negatives. Usually there is something that irritates, but not here. Everything was good - the location (particularly with a car), the outlook, the room, free wifi, good breakfast, etc. A place where you can relax and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
1.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingwood Lodge

Address: Lingwood Lodge Birkett Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £109 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lingwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lingwood Lodge is a contemporary guest house in a peaceful location just 400m from the steamer piers on Lake Windermere, the shops, restaurants and attractions of Bowness. Comfortable en suite accommodation, family rooms, TV/DVD players. Fast Fibre Optic Broadband internet access, private off road parking. Freshly cooked brakfast using local produce.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lingwood Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing