We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most impressive stay in England”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I've traveled across the world and was impressed with this hotel. The location is impeccable and the price is very reasonable. The appliances are clean and well maintained. I was particularly moved by the bedroom; the bed was comparable to a 5 hotel- very comfortable to sleep in, the toletories were top notch and the room was more spacious than I expected. This hotel made my stay in England a lot more enjoyable. Overall, a great place to stay - great food, great service and great scenery.

W. Kuntanarumitkul

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kookka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonandyui, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hi there, Sawadee Kap,
Thanks so much for your kind words, we are genuinly happy your stay with us while on your UK tour was a pleasant and enjoyable experience. Thank you again and we do hope to see you in the future again.. Kap un Mark Kap.. Jason, Yui , Summer and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Laurel Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just stayed at laurel cottage. Firstly all the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, on the down side our room was very noisy due to the front location and has with a very small shower room with poor shower , the bedroom itself could do with a makeover and brightening up.The dark brown wall has obviously suffered from a water leak from above and is badly stained . Although there is a car park which is an asset in this popular area it's a bit scary to negotiate due to the steep incline which is made up of loose slate chippings. Breakfast is limited in choice. Would not rush back and as avid walkers and visitors to the Lakes have stayed in far nicer places for around the same price.

Room Tip: Unable to advise
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very good service . I stayed at Laurel Cottage for 2 nites. After good chat they kindly upgrade my room with no charge. Very generous hospitality. The food also good. You can walk just 5 mins to go to the lake and have a great view from there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tapum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I visit the lakes alot and have never been disappointed with the b&bs I've stayed in , this one was not very clean at all in my opinion the bedding smelt of grease and I don't think it had been changed as there was a small patch of dried blood on the bed sheet at the bottom end of the bed Also the bath mat had either bleach or hair dye on it .Everything was a botched job wonky toilet roll holder hook falling off bathroom door window only opened slightly it was so stuffy walls dirty just didn't feel clean at all . Its a fantastic location and could be lovely with a refurb and fresh towels and bedding .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lolitafeminicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonandyui, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hi there,
I am sorry to hear your expectations were not as you wished, and a touch dissapointed you preferred to write here instead as coming to me with your issue. Its always a little confusing when we get a review such as yours basically tearing us appart, and at the same time, out of nearly 200 reviews, your being the only one like this. My guess is you are a competitor who never stayed here and is worrie about the launch of my restauraant in September L'Escargot @ Laurel Cottage.
I like this site, but it does allow "Anyone" to write on it...even those who dont stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stopped for two nights and couldn't have chosen a better place, staff were so helpful, nothing too much of a problem for them. Got a complimentary upgrade to 4poster suite, excellent location within Bowness, restaurants and traditional pubs only a minutes walk away. Would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimarthurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a lovely stay at laurel cottage , we were made very welcome we had room 10 which was very nice & clean the only thing wrong was the bar below it was very noisy but we would definitely stay there again .
Dawn (leeds)

Room Tip: Not room 10
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel was very well situated for all ameneties. It's hosts were very friendly and courteous! the rooms very clean and the breakfast was very good. my only criticism is that it was a little noisy of a night .. we did not come in until around 1.00am but you could still hear people passing etc but it would not put me off staying again!

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the front of the hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irene118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#22 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £80 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing