We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fabulous birthday weekend at Laurel Cottage”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous fabulous birthday weekend at Laurel Cottage”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Having just spent 2 nights at Laurel cottage for my birthday with my husband and friends I wanted to write a review Having never been to the Lakes before I was unsure where to stay so after stumbling upon Laurel cottage I decided to book a few nights away. All I can say is thank goodness I did and what a find. If, like me, you're not sure where to stay then let me suggest here. The cottage is unbelievably well located, right in the heart and centre of everything. The room we had was at the front of the cottage, spacious and really lovely. Sadly the owner Jason was away for the weekend but the team looking after it for him where friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome with nothing being too much trouble. Would I stay there again? Definitely. So if your looking for a wonderful break away then let me suggest Laurel Cottage, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TessaD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    83
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed with Jason and Tui in September and forget to let Trip Advisor know it was so good!. We had been somewhere else where I was terribly cold, having been in hospital 4 weeks earlier. Jason went out of his way to make sure I was warm and looked after us so well. We had 5 very comfortable nights and will be sure to return as soon as possible! It is good to know of such a great place to stay, and what a lovely breakfast he prepares.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juneallyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Came for a weekend break with my husband. jason greeted us on arrival what a friendly warm welcome , fab room , plenty of everything great location . Excellent breakfasts especially the fruit compote yum. The whole team are great we felt like we had known them for years cant wait to go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank looyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just returned from spending 2 nights here. Jason made us feel completely at home right from the start. The location is great, just a few steps from shops and a 2 minute stroll down to the lake. Breakfast is superb, and sets you up for the day ahead. The room was tastefully decorated and the whole cottage is full of character and charm. We really did feel at home here and have re-booked for December. All in all a first class experience, just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I absolutely loved our stay here, Have to say Jason, his wife and their team made our stay wonderful and my 30th birthday that more special :)
Service was excellent and we were greeted by smiles and a warm welcoming.
We had not one thing to fault. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kerrymit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Simply cannot fault the accommodation, staff, host or service. Everything is set in place to ensure a most pleasant and restful stay. Our group of 4 middle aged couples each had a room with its own distinct decor & character. There is an immediate sense of 'home' where you are made to feel like a visiting family member rather than a paying guest. Many thanks to Jason, his wife and all staff for a most enjoyable stay. Only downside was the restaurant had recently closed (we understand for referb), and so we could not sample the excellent cuisine others have previously commented on (breakfast was outstanding) However, plenty of eating establishments within 5 mins walk, so don't let this put you off. Location is also perfect, set right in the heart of this lovely town. Most excellent weekend, reflected in our high ratings.

Room Tip: Rooms quite warm although no heating on that we could see. Perfect for my wife, just too warm for my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonandyui, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much,, what an amazing review, and to have one from 8 people in one here is amazing..
I hope others read this and see just how genuine people leave genuine reviews, unlike the one below this!!
We are so happy you all enjoyed and it was a pleasure having you all stay with us..
Thanks so much
Jason, Yui and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here between 12th-14th September and can not fault it in anyway. Spotlessly clean, lovely rooms and the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to welcome us. The owner (Jason) came to greet us and we felt right at home.

On the Friday night (13th) the restaurant had its relaunch night and we were lucky enough to get a table. The staff told us that chef had been trained by Marco Pierre White so we had high expectations!!! We weren't disappointed -- I had melt in the mouth scallops as a starter and delicious dover sole for main. I was too stuffed for dessert but I saw other diners eating beautiful cakes and puddings and they seemed to be enjoying them! :-)

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Laurel Cottage next time we're in the Lakes and I'd 150% recommend "L'Escargot Restaurant" if you want an exceptional, romantic and fairly priced meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank louise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonandyui, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and taking the time to write it. We do apreciate it very much and are all so happy you enjoyed. We are also happy your dinner was such a great experience and do hope you come try us again when we re-open for Valentines after taking our down time over winter with the restaurant and re-roofing laurel cottage.
Sincere thanks
Jason, Yui and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#41 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#15 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing