We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage in great location with fantastic service”
Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
“Lovely cottage in great location with fantastic service”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in the cottage room which was cosy and comfortable. The breakfast was great. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. On our day of departure they let us store our bag all day and even let us borrow a couple of towels to take to the leisure complex. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoezoezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    83
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
196
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Stayed a couple of nights at this B&B to look around the area. This is what I found:
- Had originally booked for a single room without ensuite (25 pounds) but when I arrived, they decided to suddenly upgrade me to a double bed with ensuite for no extra cost, which was a very nice surprise!
- Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
- Good location - very central to shops and everything, esp the post office which was very handy for me as I needed to send home a few XS baggage items I'd bought whilst on holiday!
- No wireless internet available (bit disappointed about that)
Otherwise a nice good value room, which I'd recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbopumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Great value for money, got 3 nights for the price of 2! Perfect for a room just to sleep in, my husband and i went to windermere just for the walks, so we were out and about for most of the day a good place to crash and have a hearty english breakfast before we took off. Staff were friendly, rooms were spotless. The beds were slightly uncomfy woke up with sore necks or that could be from the walking! Fantastic location shops, bars, chippy and lake windermere a 5 minute walk away. Would definatly go back, hoping to go stay again at end of summer.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boppinbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After reading many reviews favouring the Laurel Cottage we decided to book in for a 2 night stay.The worst decision we have made, after being shown to our room/box via the very floral stairway we could not believe our eyes. The bedding was about the same age of the cottage and had many stains and human hairs on it, the carpet was stained and worn and very unclean. We were allocated a room without en suite so our "bathroom" was opposite our room. This was even worse then the room,wallpaper(floral) hanging off,the toilet unclean and the shower was out of the ark!!! Yes we understand that the cottage is old and has to keep its charm but that should remain externally. To clean it and upgrade the rooms internally would not lose that charm.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonysprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windermerehirdy, owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
We were horrified to read this review and just wish that the customer had come down and spoken to us at the time - we may of been able to move them, and we are sorry they did not enjoy their stay.
Regarding the linen - we change the linen every day, do all our own laundry and replace the linen regularly but we take on board everything that is mentioned. Regarding the decor - this room is in the original cottage which is 400 years old. The decor is quite old fashioned - cottage style and perhaps too flowery for some, but this room is due for refurbishment this winter.

The room does have a private bathroom - but we notify everybody at the time of booking and it is clearly explained that it is for your private use but outside the bedroom.

This is not a typical review for Laurel Cottage and we have noted all the comments made but please look at our other positive comments.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We spent 2 nights at this lovely little guest house ( it used to be a grammar school) and its winding corridors and steep staircases, - I bet the chambermaids are fit - and really enjoyed it. The room (8) was quite small but we did not have cat in need of swinging so was not an issue. The bed was classy looking sleigh affair, and although we both thought it not too comfy on initial bounce, we slept like logs both nights. Breakfast was good, tasty sausages, bacon plentiful, eggs done to perfection, possibly only gripe was the portion of toast was a bit meagre, and we were not offered more, and there was no "nice" touches like local jam or tea. But would not complain as was reasonably priced. Parking was not an issue for us as we did not intend to use the car ( Laurel Cottage IS very central) until we checked out. We handed our keys into John, who, after breakfast, shunted all the cars around for folk who did require access. Syma is friendly and a gracious host, I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a good value, well located break.

  • Liked — clean & friendly
  • Disliked — treking up the stairs, ha ha
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaznTrevNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#24 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#21 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing