We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

just back from a 2 night break great room , great breakfast, staff very friendly,service spot on,package on travelzoo. too good for words, mulled wine, high tea free drink in bar,and upgrade to fourposter room

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

This guest house has a 5 star AA rating and this being true ( I checked with the AA) then the standards in this country have, like most things, gone rapidly downhill. I booked as a special treat for my husband's birthday through the Travelzoo offer. and was told that as I had booked so far in advance of our visit that a free upgrade "should not be a problem".
On arrival we were shown to our room (No 2) which though pleasant enough was nothing special, having only what you would expect from any average Guest House at half the cost. The en-suite was very small with a cloakroom sized basin with a hot tap that was very loose, and towel rail which was coming away from the wall one side.These were repaired very quickly. Also no shaver point. The sound insulation was very poor and we could clearly hear voices in the room next door and from the room below. On our first night we were awakened by a baby crying in the room below (website states that "we cannot cater for children under 5 "). We had to ask for our bottle of wine and vouchers for restaurants advertised in the offer and were told that the vouchers were only for restaurants in Ambleside. When we enquired about upgrade we were asked what the problem with our room was as David Cameron had stayed in it. Was that relevant?. On our 2nd morning we were told we would be moved to a superior room only soon after to be told it could not be done after all. The afternoon tea was nice and the breakfast was well presented but not a huge choice. Is all this really 5 star service and accommodation?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank AngieM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Small but nicely decorated and clean room. Tiny bathroom but nice fixtures and fittings. We were disappointed with the accommodation overall BUT it's in a great location between Windermere and Bowness, the staff were beyond lovely and the cooked breakfast was delicious.

We were able to use the leisure facilities at the Macdonald Hotel down the road for free which are really good.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the room with the four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CouplandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband booked this hotel as a special birthday treat for myself. We arrived and were put into room 15, an attic bedroom, facing the main road. The bathroom was tiny, and the whole room a little grubby. We went into Bowness for the evening, when we came back we asked for our bottle of wine which was part of the deal, however, they did not have any full bottles of white wine available, although we were given a courtesy glass each. Unfortunately the noise from the road and people wandering around kept us awake most of the evening, not a good way to start my birthday. I have to say that the staff were extremely helpful and arranged to move us to a quieter room, which was a lot better - room 16, however, as the offer said we would have an automatic upgrade did wonder why we weren't given this room initially. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't have a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ambermist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was booked as a special deal for two nights including afternoon tea for my in laws. Asked for a free upgrade if available as a surprise and was told this would happen. However they were disappointed with their stay. No shaving point in bathroom, small room and dirty grout/tiles in bathroom. Food could not be faulted though. Disappointed as prior to booking I had read nothing but good reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blandy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

I think there are about 12 rooms in this B & B. Very friendly staff, recommended restaurants and things to do in the area Wonderful breakfast. Cozy living room area with bar. About a 5 minute walk to the town of Windermere and about 15-20 minute walk to Bowness and the lake

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after claiming an offer from Travel Zoo, we were greeted with tea and scones on arrival and afternoon tea on the second day of our stay. Everything about this hotel was faultless, the room was small but perfectly formed, the breakfast was beautiful and all of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Couldn't recommend this highly enough! The owner was so helpful and he couldn't do enough to recommend places to go and to see, he is obviously very passionate about what he does which is great to see. Will definitely return on our next trip to Windermere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliestarbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.6 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Address: New Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £82 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing