We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing short break ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlands Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most relaxing short break ever!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I'd wanted to visit The Lake District for a long time since 2011 to be exact and saw a great deal for this hotel for a 2 night stay so I bought it. 2 years later The owner had still honoured my booking as well as giving us the courtyard suite to enjoy our stay in. Even before we arrive the service was friendly, efficient and welcoming and that continued throughout our stay there. We loved our suite in this idyllic hotel. A natural stream runs just outside and it's a lovely short walk down to the lake and town of Bowness or a short walk back up to Windemere town centre which meant we walked from the station as we came by train. It's such a convenient location for both towns. The breakfast was so nice each day and we through you enjoyed our lovely afternoon tea on the second day which also came as part of the deal. We felt thoroughly spoiled at Woodlands and will definitely return again and again. Thank you to all the staff and the owners for accommodating us. Rosanne M

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    77
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
41
258
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Alan who gave us tips on the local area before showing us to our room. The room was very clean with a pleasant outlook onto the stream although not huge it was perfectly adequate (this is a guest house huge rooms would be unrealistic). My husband had ordered a bottle of prosecco upon arrival this was in a cooler in our room waiting . The booking we made wax through secrete escapes so included cream tea on arrival which we took in the bar/lounge area this is more traditionally decorated than the bedrooms perfect for me as I like the traditional look in main areas but the freshness of a modern bedroom. We were given the menu for dinner whilst we had our tea and scones so that they could prepare. Fine with us. After a relaxing drive and stroll in fell foot, we took to our room to drink prosecco & watch tv. Signal occasional dropped but I put it down to the area. Dinner that evening was delicious and plentiful, compliments to the cook! The room was peaceful at night with just the babble from the stream to be heard. Both mornings started with a grata breakfast cooked to order with a selection of cereals yoghurt and fruit also available. The coffee was good and strong too. Overall we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with excellent service throughout. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloeblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at Woodlands Windermere. The breakfasts and dinner were great! Very friendly and helpful staff indeed. It was our first time in the lake district, and we were well informed of the surrounding areas, especially when we mentioned that we was planning to climb scafell pike!!

Hopefully we will stay at the woodlands windermere again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph_G91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Well we booked a 2 day secret escapes deal as it was our 20th anniversary, the deal included scones and tea on arrival, evening meal (2 course) first night, use of spa down the road and a superior room, well if that was a superior room god forbid what a standard room is like, it was in the loft space,tiny room,miniature bathroom (Smallest I have ever come across),taps that turn the wrong way (Got soaked on several occasions!), TV that had a very poor signal so no good, bed that slopped on the left and right side so much so you felt you could roll off, very poor pillows, we both had a poor sleep on each occasion. Evening meal, well we were called the day before arriving to be told it would be best to have the meal the following evening as we would be the only ones eating, although it was our anniversary we agreed. The food, the breakfast was nice, freshly cooked, the evening meal was average (Except the wifes pudding which in her words was "Yummy") and the veg accompliments was poor. Service was friendly but overall we were very disappointed,probably more so with Secret Escapes, we do feel we didn't get value for money and will not return, nor will we believe secret escapes adverts anymore!. On a real plus is the spa down the road, worth a visit.

Room Tip: Do Not accept room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianTaglietti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsWindermere, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review Woodlands, we were truly surprised by your comments as you said you had enjoyed your stay with us when asked, and never once gave any hint your were unhappy with your room, your tv or your food. I'm not sure how you feel you didn't get value for money with an essentially complimentary meal, complimentary cream tea and much reduced room rate, with a free spa pass? I think sometimes a touch of realism is needed, we are a 5 star guest house, we don't have huge rooms but we are not a 5 star hotel, we offer freshly cooked, locally sourced food with excellent service. The night you dined with us we offered new season Asparagus and Fine Green Beans with sauteed new potatoes as the vegetable, I'm not sure how this would be viewed as poor? We were glad you at least enjoyed dessert, but if you want three Michelin star food you really must book and pay for this, it will cost considerably more than we charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My wife & I have just returned from the Woodlands Guest House in Windermere having spent a long weekend celebrating our 40th Anniversary.

We were booked into room 16 a Courtyard room with private entrance, the room was fantastic, spacious & very clean. A 4 poster bed, sofa, TV, en suite etc...

As part of our booking deal, we were provided with dinner on our first night and breakfast each morning... The dinner was great, they are certainly 'hiding their light under a bushel'. We love good food, this was great food & totally unexpected. The breakfast choice was very good and set us up for each day.

We will return to this hotel & would not hesitate in recommending it to anybody looking for a friendly, central & well run small hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J_LWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review, 22 June 2015
Many thanks for taking the trouble to review Woodlands, we appreciate you lovely comments and hope we can welcome you back again before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights &, from arrival, Erica, made us feel special. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were all totally customer focused. The location is great for Bowness & the Lake. We walked a lot. The food was lovely, the room comfortable. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsWindermere, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really hope we can welcome you back to Woodlands again in the future. I have passed your comments on to Erica who is an absolute star, you certainly made her day, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights and booked through secret escapes. On arrival the owner greeted us and we found him to be very informative and welcoming. We received scones and tea which were to die for. The best we have ever had. We got breakfast which was very nice. Fresh, cooked perfectly and very hot. We had an evening meal included on the first night and again everything we had was well presented and cooked. Our room was on the first floor and although our neighbours in the room next door were a little noidy we the room to be well decorated and furnished. It was clean and spacious. The only odd thing were the taps on the basin. Operated the wrong way so we did get soaked a couple of times. Bit strange. However a minor point from what was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The evening entertainment was a bonus also ;-) Included in the deal was the use of the spa facilities at the Old England hotel in bowness. This was very welcome and a major plus point.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slimjady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsWindermere, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review Woodlands, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your meals. Apologies if you were disturbed by noisy neighbours, we hope the positives made up for their thoughtlessness. Your welcome for the entertainment it's all part of the service, or not in this case ;)) We really hope to welcome you back to Woodlands again in the near future, thanks again for sharing you positive experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#19 of 108 in Windermere
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Property: Woodlands Windermere
Address: New Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing