We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay for the lakes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for the lakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent service, good value, travelled on a Secret Escapes deal.
Great food,beautifully presented. Friendly staff, proactive and helpful. Even the bar was good value. Good location to walk into Bowness or Windermere. I used the spa which is at a nearby hotel , very easy , good gym.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    72
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
41
246
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Arrived on Friday 11th for 2 night stay with my daughter and 2 friends when we arrived we was greeted by a lovely young girl who talked us through everything we needed to no and showed us to our rooms no 8 and no 17 no 8 was a four poster cozy room bathroom is modern and shower works perfect room 17 is amazing it's very spacious with a big TV and leather couch it as a full bath heaven after walking An it's own little patio we then had tea and scones after we were shown our rooms omg they was lovely the best we have had later that evening we had a 3course meal in the hotel credit to the chef and staff the food was lovely the staff are very helpfull and friendly they can not do enough it had a lovely setting ,we had a very peacefull nights sleep the breakfast is great lots to choose from the salmon was wonderful as was the full English we was very well looked after at this hotel and Alan the owner was very friendly and made sure everything was ok we will defiantly be returning this is a little gem see you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Arrived on Friday 11th April for a two night stay with my Fiance. What a lovely hotel clean, lovely ambiance and very friendly staff who couldn't do enoough for us. I would highly recommend this little Gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam7019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a long weekend and it was just perfect!

We arrived and were greeted by an incredibly friendly staff member on the front desk who talked us through everything to do with the hotel, the surrounding area and gave advice about where to visit. We were showed our room (one of the courtyard suites), which was a large and very cosy room with a separate private entrance round the back of the hotel. The layout of the room was lovely, with a large four post bed, sofa, arm chairs and large TV. The bathroom was modern and very clean (along with the rest of the room).

We had dinner on the first night at the hotel, for which there were three different options for each course. The food was lovely, obviously homemade and very filling. I had the steak pie, which was packed full of meat! The breakfasts were fantastic with a good variety to choose from. One of us was gluten intolerant (which we had notified the hotel about prior to arriving), and they had done everything they could to accommodate for this (including providing gluten free cakes for cream tea and gluten free bread at breakfast). This was the biggest effort we have ever experienced regarding this, and was a really pleasant surprise, making the whole experience that bit more special.

The hotel offers access to the spa at the Macdonald hotel down by the waterfront in Bowness, which was very nice and certainly worth a visit.

There are a few reviews on here which mention things like taps turning the wrong way, room temperature and creaky floor boards. The taps in the bathroom did go the wrong way, but I wouldn't have even thought about it had others not mentioned it - it certainly wasn't an issue. The room was warm on arrival, but again, this certainly wasn't an issue and was in fact was very much welcomed and made the room even more cosy. The floor boards above do occasionally squeak, as is the case with any old building, and in fact adds to the charm of it all.

Overall, our weekend at Bowness/Windermere really was perfect, part because the beautiful location and walks and part for this great guesthouse and friendly staff there. We hope to return soon.

P.s. Whilst all the staff were great, we'd like to especially thank Erica - she couldn't me more accommodating and helpful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice, friendly owners. Brilliant breakfast and dinner, must have one good chef. We got the room on the top floor, 4 lots of stairs to climb with pretty heavy bags, although we were helped carrying the load on our arrival. Room was an ok size, nicely furnished but with a tiny shower-room.

Room Tip: Nothing on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cami64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I'd wanted to visit The Lake District for a long time since 2011 to be exact and saw a great deal for this hotel for a 2 night stay so I bought it. 2 years later The owner had still honoured my booking as well as giving us the courtyard suite to enjoy our stay in. Even before we arrive the service was friendly, efficient and welcoming and that continued throughout our stay there. We loved our suite in this idyllic hotel. A natural stream runs just outside and it's a lovely short walk down to the lake and town of Bowness or a short walk back up to Windemere town centre which meant we walked from the station as we came by train. It's such a convenient location for both towns. The breakfast was so nice each day and we through you enjoyed our lovely afternoon tea on the second day which also came as part of the deal. We felt thoroughly spoiled at Woodlands and will definitely return again and again. Thank you to all the staff and the owners for accommodating us. Rosanne M

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Alan who gave us tips on the local area before showing us to our room. The room was very clean with a pleasant outlook onto the stream although not huge it was perfectly adequate (this is a guest house huge rooms would be unrealistic). My husband had ordered a bottle of prosecco upon arrival this was in a cooler in our room waiting . The booking we made wax through secrete escapes so included cream tea on arrival which we took in the bar/lounge area this is more traditionally decorated than the bedrooms perfect for me as I like the traditional look in main areas but the freshness of a modern bedroom. We were given the menu for dinner whilst we had our tea and scones so that they could prepare. Fine with us. After a relaxing drive and stroll in fell foot, we took to our room to drink prosecco & watch tv. Signal occasional dropped but I put it down to the area. Dinner that evening was delicious and plentiful, compliments to the cook! The room was peaceful at night with just the babble from the stream to be heard. Both mornings started with a grata breakfast cooked to order with a selection of cereals yoghurt and fruit also available. The coffee was good and strong too. Overall we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with excellent service throughout. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloeblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.0 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#12 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Windermere

Property: Woodlands Windermere
Address: New Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome Edwardian villa located on the peaceful side of the village. The 15 newly refurbished guest rooms with brand new en-suite shower rooms and White Company toiletries, include a choice of doubles and twin rooms, with two of them located on the ground floor. All rooms are well equipped with 19" flat screen Toshiba televisions, radio alarm clocks, hairdryer and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities. Three of the rooms have King Size 4-poster beds and three of the rooms have super king size beds, if you really want to impress, flowers and/or champagne can be waiting for you in the room. There's a bar and residents' lounge where you can relax with a drink, and breakfast is served in the light and airy dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Windermere Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing