We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albert Bar

The Albert Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lunch with dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We (4 adults, 2 kids, 2 dogs) called in to the Albert for lunch primarily because they were one of the few pubs serving food after 2:00pm.

We got a nice table outside under cover as the weather was changeable, with plenty of space to keep the dogs out of the way. Should be noted that the beer garden is adjacent to the road and the separating wall does not enclose the area.

The menu had a good range of options. I went with the Cumberland sausage which arrived with plenty of mash, veg ang gravy and was very good. Only negative was the blue cheese sauce for my wifes steak was missing, this was quickly corrected. Prices were pretty much middle of the road for the area. Comments on the taste of the food were positive from all members of the party.

Good choice of beers that were of good quality.

Overall would recommend to family and friends and will look to return when in the area again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    48
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great grub in the heart of Bowness (and dog friendly too)!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had known nothing about this centrally located pub before our family of seven (and dog) descended upon it for an early evening dinner. Chosen only because there was space outside for our dog, we will undoubtedly use the pub again when we next return.

It was only after going inside to the bar that we realised that dogs were permitted inside, at least up until 9pm. The interior is very comfortable and spacious with lots of wood panelling which I'm sure would be appreciated by many foreign visitors.

The staff were young, very friendly and efficient. Our large order for food and drinks was taken down and ultimately delivered without any problems whatsoever despite the pub being very busy. I had anticipated a long wait for food but actually we took delivery very quickly, a bonus with three young mouths to feed.

The food on offer is by and large traditional English pub food. It was reasonably priced in comparison to other Lake District pubs and the portion sizes were generous. None of our party had cause to complain about the food and the proof was that the kids all demolished their kids meals without any encouragement from us. We only had mains as none of us had room for pudding, so cannot comment on desserts.

This pub and everything we experienced about it is a credit to the management and staff. Too many places fail to deliver, particularly in tourist rich areas like Bowness, but this place is spot on. Thought long and hard about giving The Albert a five, but the only thing that stopped me was the outlook from the beer garden. The road that is adjacent can be quite busy but to be fair it didn't detract from the enjoyable meal we had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NotBillBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just too much food lol Great meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had the biggest fish i have ever seen for lunch it was like a shark with chips.
Great food and the Sunday roast was also great

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holidayboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Pint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Second visit to the Albert and still a great place food very good and not overly priced liked some places in the area ,Sunday lunch was great

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about spirits and beers. Food portions were large and food was very tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PenT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Albert Bar also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Albert Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing