We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great weekend”
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stags Head
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great weekend”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Listen, the poor reviews of The Stags Head are mainly by couples who wanted a romantic weekend in The Lakes - if that is the case, why did you not read the reviews on here first?!!

For a weekend away with a group of mates, be it for a reunion, walking weekend, hen do or in our case Stag Do - then The Stags Head is an ideal location. RIght in the middle of Bowness, with its own massive bar and nightclub - what more can you ask for?

The rooms have all been recently modernised and are very adequate for anyones needs. The staff can't do enough to help and the food potions (be it breakfast or bar food) are massive!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley_del_horno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    102
    64
    41
    71
See reviews for
52
156
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed there, which speaks for itself! Yes, we had a complaint about the lack of heating, but it was quickly resolved. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is basic but very good and plentiful portions.We stayed in the Bowness suite and apart from the initial lack of heating, could not fault it.
The Stags Head gives good value for money, a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and we both recommend it.
We will be back there in October2011.
Dave & Dorothy Parkinson

Room Tip: Use the website, but phone and ask for any specia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davezw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed in room 10, there was a bath but no shower, it was cold and no heating on. It was extremely noisey as the club turned out so did not sleep till 3 am.
the breakfast5 was good and staff were civil and helpful.
I wouldnt stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower instead of a bath!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_taylor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Me and my boyfriend read the awful reviews on this hotel after we had booked it and were absolutely dreading our weekend away here and did consider cancelling and going somewhere else.
Well we were so pleased we didnt, we had a friendly welcome even though the bar was busy, we had a very clean pleasant room, with a comfortable bed and clean sheets, breakfast was nice and location perfect.
The bar downstairs was a very popular bar on the saturday night with the locals and it got very lively but we felt comfortable enough to be sat in the bar,
We didnt go to the night club around the back but you could hear the party goers from our room but it didnt last long as it was just when it was kicking out time!
If you dont mind abit of noise then you will be ok staying in this hotel, have no fear it was clean friendly and the breakfast was nothing to moan at!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmo033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Me & my fiance came here for a weekend away for his 21st birthday. Our room was very basic, could of done with a clean. The bar was lively & the club was excellent!! Our bed was very noisy even with the slightest of movements. The breakfast was... discusting. The location couldnt of been better. Lots of restaurants around & the lake was just down the road. Although we drove around the back of the 'hotel' & it was a shock! The place looked like it was falling down!! At night time all we could here were floorboards squeaking & doors slamming. We nicknamed Stags Head as Faulty Towers. We enjoyed our stay but I think it was the company we enjoyed, not the hotel.

We could not fault the night life, excellent club downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stay twice a year and will continue to do so. Manager and staff excellent nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast / meals very good. Suites excellent as we are sure all rooms are but as we only ever stay in a suite that is all we can comment on.Made to feel welcome at all times. Excellent !! E + P Roby

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I didnt even see the rooms the rudeness of the manager was enough. It was like walking into a social club or a work mans club. There was no reception. I had to stand at a bar waiting for someone to give me the keys to the room that I paid for on last minute.com after a six hour car journey. I handed him back the keys and stayed at the Mcdonalds hotel next door it cost £175 worth every penny I will not get my money back from the Stags Head dont care I would not stay in a dump like that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing