We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night.. Top location!”
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stags Head
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A couple of us stop at the stags head last night, I was very worried due to the bad reviews.. But I didn't need to be.. I'm not saying this is a 5* B and B but you get what you pay for.. Rooms basic but very clean and everything you need. Every staff member we spoke to would do anything for you and very friendly, even the door men at night. The breakfast was very good..
All I would say is that this is a pub/nightclub aswell.. We went back to our room about midnight and the nightclub was open till 2am. We didn't hear a thing. I wouldn't stop here if you are after a quiet break/elderly or a family but it was prefect for us. We would go back again.
If you like Tapas and cocktails go to the sol bar, 2min walk away.. Amazing food and drink.
Fantastic weekend :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonbon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

First time staying here and we had an absolute ball. The room was clean and the bathroom spotless and also very big. Was nice to be served breakfast instead of self service and it was excellent (full english and portions huge), Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Entertainment was great both nights - especially dancing Elvis was a bonus!! Could not fault the place. Windermere was lovely and the sun coming out was an added bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the church - the bells do ring around 10 on a Sunday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just returned from a night stay at this hotel, we stayed in room 23 which was in dire need of a makeover, it smelt very musty and the bathroom was disgusting, I dont think they know what bleach is for. The shower was that bad web couldn't bare to use it. Breakfast was ok but didn't offer further coffee or orange juice, paid £80 for the night, but would have paid a little more and gone elsewhere,

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Montybland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was our third stay at the Stags Head and again everything was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful, the bedroom was spotlessly clean and well presented, the bed was very comfortable with pristine bed linen. Comprehensive breakfast choice, the best scrambled eggs I have tasted! Had two other meals during our stay that were also excellent. The Stags Head offers live entertainment at weekends and there is a great atmosphere in the bar helped by the fact that there are plenty of staff on duty including security for the basement night club thus ensuring a safe but fun environment for guests. The rooms at the front of the hotel are affected by some late noise from people leaving the club but it isn't that bad. We are looking forward to next year's reunion already.........

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are not affected by late night noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Met up with friends for our third annual reunion and once again had a great time. The staff are fantastic. Always willing to help.
If you enjoy live entertainment, this is the place to be on a Friday and Saturday night. What a great atmosphere. No fights No trouble, just a lot of people having a great time.
Close to shops and the lake it is in a perfect location. The added bonus of free use of spa a few minutes walk just made the weekend.
If you are looking for a lively place to stay with first class staff and excellent food look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitedragon1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

For the third year running, six of us from around the country met at the Stags Head for our annual weekend reunion. The website is very clear - it is a party venue at weekends, so if you are looking for peace and quiet stay elsewhere, but if you want fun and a great time in a safe environment without spending a fortune on accommodation, then this is the place for you!
The staff are friendly and helpful and a bar man took our cases to our rooms for us when we checked in. Our bedroom and en suite was clean and the bedlinen was pristine. We had a laugh with the staff, enjoyed great food and enjoyed the live entertainment in the form of Pete Lashley on Friday night. Unfortunately, Saturday night's entertainers had greater belief in their musical abilities than the microphone had! However, we really enjoyed ourselves once again, many thanks to Chris, Andy, Dino, Jamie, Sharon and the very happy and jolly red headed waitress - hearing her sing as she worked was a joy!
It is an added bonus to be able to use a nearby hotel's leisure facilities and that was a very relaxing way to spend a few hours before partying on again in the evening.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for cheap, clean accommodation for a party weekend.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, you want rooms to the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting friends and found it to be a great base to explore the surrounding lakes and hills. Although not quite up to our usual standards the staff were freindly, the room was clean and the bar food was good. A little noisy but we were so tired after all the walking we still managed to sleep. Would reccommend it for short stays but not if you are after luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,119 reviews
0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing