We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stags Head
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel was better than i'd hoped for after reading a few reviews. I was greeted warmly upon my arrival and given discount card for food & drink. Room was not huge but clean and well appointed. The location of the hotel is the main reason for 5/5 rating however. If you intend to travel on the lake or walk in the surrounding hills then you'd struggle to find a better location to start out from. If/when I return to Windermere i'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    104
    65
    42
    71
See reviews for
54
158
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hal and Sharon from N. Ireland. Very comfortable place to stay, old fashioned but very clean and the staff are very pleasant. We were warned about the noise but were disappointed by the lack of it, we stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday night, the only two nights that there was no entertainment, we were going for the craic. The leisure facilities at the nearby Burnside Hotel, which is about a five-minute walk away, are very good and their Jacuzzi was the best I have used. Great location for sight seeing, close to all the best sights. All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: Book the front room with the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpooll
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

stayed many times at the stags head hotel ,did notice the changes ,breakfast as good as any hotel in the lakes,great choice on menus ,highly reccomend the hot baguttes .rooms dated but very clean .staff always helpful,our only gripe would be the loss of the free parking at the belfield hotel caught us unaware and cost us £12 to feed the meter.

Room Tip: use trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wandered in, wasn't met with menus, had to find my own. Found a seat, chose food, went to the bar and was met by a rude, obnoxious, dismissive character, who took the micky out of us. Was aggressive towards us and when we asked to pay said, 'well give us your card then'. I ordered a sunday roast, it was £6.95 and came with overcooked chicken a tea spoon of gravy, more bones than chicken and enough fat to grease a car for a few years. No apology given when I pass on my comments just 'okay'. Very bad service and chronic staff. Never again! Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattJackson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I'd read the reviews before booking, so I knew what to expect. Check in was quick, recieved a discount card for food and drink, had a good laugh at the Friday night entertainment and went downstairs to the nightclub after the main bar shut and watched the Olympic fireworks. No car park, but one near enough, room was big, clean and cleaners came in after the first night. Breakfast was good and served quickly, we were only on a boozy birthday do and it was ideal for us!

Room Tip: We were a couple of floors up, well clear of the noise of the pub and club, though we only went to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Don't come here expecting 5 star accommodation, read the reviews, know what to expect and you won't be disappointed.

Check in is 2.00pm but we arrived at 12.30pm and as the room was ready we were allowed to check in.

The room was as we expected with old furnishings, old decor but spotlessly clean with clean beds, clean sheets and a spotlessly clean modern bathroom. There was plenty of storage space for 2 adults and 2 kids with 3/4 days worth of clothes and walking gear. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and there is a small flat screen TV with about 20 channels.

Breakfast is included in the price and what a breakfast it is. Fully cooked including cumberland sausage, bacon, hash browns, eggs how you like them and black pudding. Fresh kippers are also offered as an alternative or you can have bacon or other cooked products on toast or floured baps.

Residents are entitled to 10% discount on drinks from the bar and on bar food. Real ale drinkers are offered a choice of 3/4 different tipples and the usual mass produced drinks are also available. The bar food was a real surprise, for £6/7 they offer real good value meals in an area where good value is hard to find. I had steak and kidney pudding with really thick cut chips one night and my wife had a thick cut of gammon topped with egg. Some of the best pub food we have ever had.

Location wise it is excellent, right in the heart of Bowness, a two minute walk to the landing stages on Lake Windermere and an excellent base for exploring the rest of the lake district. Keswick is about a 40 minute drive away.

Guests are also able to use the leisure facilities at the nearby Burnside Hotel which is about a five minute walk away.

As kids stay free we paid £65 per night for the four of us, that's £16.25 pppn which is unbelievable value.

So as I said at the top if you want 5 star luxury or even 4 star luxury go elsewhere but if you want clean, great value accommodation with good food and good beer the Stags Head could be for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllsBells14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is a joke it. there is no disabled parking near the hotel the nearest being the municiple carpark in rayrig road a 300 yard walk away, On arrival we were shown into the bar to book in and get room key then it was up 2 flights of stairs where the last 3 steps were at least 12 inches high with no handrails not good to someone with walking problems, The room no.8 was on the front of the hotel just above the entrance so it was noisey all day and at night until about 2-30am with people smoking and singing, the bath room was clean and had a large shower but had a door that would only open about 12inches and had no grab rails inside so i could not use it safely.breakfast was the only good part of my stay though we were seated in the games room part of the bar.
overall if you have a disability avoid this hotel, but if you are on a stag/hen night with the disco in the bar and the nightclub below that it would be good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizard449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing