We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stags Head
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$248
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$204
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$278
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$240
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
72
109
74
44
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
109
74
44
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly pubpay and displayfull englishfamily roomtea and coffee facilitiescouple of nightsfour poster bedmacdonald hotelweekend breakthe location is perfectsuitelake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We did not stay at this pub although looking at the advert for the rooms I would love to go back for a couple of nights. This review is for the food. We entered the pub and found it to be a very friendly, welcoming place. A local and his dog 'Flint' moved so that we had a comfortable place to eat. We also engaged in friendly conversation with the locals. The meals themselves were plentiful and very tasty and good value for money. The beer was good too. I would go back if I visited again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEF2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Review is for food, didn't stay though sure we would have rated it highly too. Dropped in for Sunday lunch, think other reviewers are probably correct in surmising that this is a pub for locals, and why not! we always have prefered the sometimes blunt, honest welcome of local people who are often very kind, interesting and interested in non locals. This is not to put down the more polished, corporate tourist establishments, we just tend to find they can be a bit false and soul -less. Anyway, back to Stags head, really nice inside, cool, plenty of space and thanks very much to '' Cumbrian man '' and his lovely dog for most obligingly giving up his seat so we could sit together ( something many 'tourists' wouldn't do) Huge roasts and pie, just what we needed with gravy that tasted of meat, not just salt, excellent beers fast service and fantastic value. Wouldn't hesitate to make it our local, if only! Beautiful, Beautiful area too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked on line, as I had seen this hotel whilst visiting Bowness in the past, and I wanted somewhere as close to the lake and amenities as I could get, on a budget I could afford. Remember for those visitors not aware of the location, Windermere the town is not the closest location to Lake Windermere - Bowness is! We were travelling with friends so booked the two suites with four poster beds, one room above the other and they were wonderful. Large and spacious, with newly installed and modern bathrooms, large TV's, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, lots of towels and white linen bedding, and oh so very clean. The location is within seconds of the lakeside and the same for the shops, restaurant and bars. As it was the hottest week of the year so far, the large sash windows were open letting in air and light. The breakfast was full English along with the usual options and very good. I don't know what the other rooms are like, but as the hotel was fully booked and turning away guests in the midweek before school holidays, figure they must be as good as ours. So we will be back. Give it a go and book one of the suites. The bar however, used for breakfast, on the ground floor is old fashioned and in need of an update, but the service was good and the food was good, and the prices for drinks on an evening very reasonable. As we had booked for the rooms though and there are lots of other eateries and drinking places around, it was of little consequence and certainly didn't spoil the stay.

Room Tip: Book the suites if you can, the extra space is worth it and the rooms are large, and if you go when it is not so hot you will enjoy spending time in these rooms. If however it is hot, the four windows letting in the air is blissful!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have just returned form the lakes.The staggs head was a brilliant location and the breakfast each morning was lovely!Rooms basic,nice bathroom and clean.Hairdryer and good tea,coffee biscuits in room.Believe the four poster bedrooms are worth upgrading to none available for us!We didn't really eat in the pub used more as a base to sample all the lovely restaurants in bowness!You must go to vinegar jones for the best fish and chips ever.Only bad thing was we couldn't open the window in our room and we were far too hot in this weather!So ask for a room with a window that opens or take a fan!So overall fab location,lovely breakfast,basic clean rooms.Good as a base for exploring bowness.Oh and we were lucky enough to see the queen!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loubycoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Whilst drinking in the hotel bar we were taken by the peculiar 'Adams family'esque' decor with plenty of stuffed animals! The bar was like stepping back in time to the 70's - minus the smoker's fugg. Beer was ok, toilets pretty grotty - right next to kitchens! Weirdly naff one-armed-bandit-type 'amusements' in half of the bar. An ideal venue for big, drunken groups of lads/lasses on the lash.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andyhailsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews