We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty grim” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stags Head
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty grim”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The only gd thing I can really say about this pub is that it's nice on the outside so if its a nice day then great!!! The inside of the pub is drab, bit smelly and quite run down, they've got a few cask ales food looked ok if you like a few triangle sandwiches chucked on a plate with crisps. staff don't seem very happy to be there and there is zero atmosphere all in a very depressing pub! So sad as it has fantastic potential!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawniep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    98
    63
    40
    70
See reviews for
50
152
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great location for centre of Bowness and the lake. We arrived at the hotel without booking before hand. We were offered a standard double for £80 or a superior double for £90. We went for the superior double. On the surface the room was lovely (Bowness suite) four poster bed, couch and chair in the room and a very modern bathroom. However little things let the room down. The canope on the four poster was dusty, the bed very uncomfotable and only a double bed, the shower had a huge shower head but the water preasure was poor, cheap nasty toiletries, the room hadn't been cleaned properly there was an empty packet of crisps and a cake wrapper under the couch.

The staff were friendly however they would never win any prizes for being proffesional. Smoking outside the entrance was a bit off putting.

If you are staying with children than this hotel isn't for you. It is very noisey in the rooms. This didn't bother us as we were drinking downstairs till late.

This hotel is suited for stag or hen parties not for familys or couples on a romantic break. Certainly not worth £90!

Room Tip: Go to the Olde England next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The stags head was a big let down, the shower was mouldy it all needs updating. We had room 20 the towels had a gig burn in it.

It was not a cheap, I would not stay again even if it was free.
It's in a great location just near the lake, it shows pictures on the web site which look great.

But in reality it is very shabby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 200Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Starting with the positives.
It's Clean, Very cheap, great location and has a nightclub in the basement. The breakfast was nice and the beer in the pub fine.

Negatives.
No parking, the nightclub kicking out around 2 was nosy, no shower in the room I was in, the whole place could do with some investment and a coat of paint. The staff where generally polite, but I got the distinct impression that they wanted to be else where.

If your a young group and want to party, this place will be great for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Near to everything in Bowness hotel clean and tidy staff helpful. Breakfast served well and loads of it good choice. Bar meals available but limited. Entertainment at weekends with disco downstairs. A good place to base a lake district break

Room Tip: Bowness suite has 4postEr and loads of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Visited Windermere and stopped off at this pub for lunch. There are loads of pubs dotted around the town so it was pot luck and we opted for this due to it being off the main drag.

It has a decent menu and the prices are reasonable.

When the food arrived it was a great sized portion so great value for money.

We ordered the beef baguette and it was not chewy or riddled with grissle like most you get.

Looking at other dishes coming from the kitchen they looked plentiful and home cooked rather than microwave chains.

If you want a decent lunch in Windermere then give this place a go.

Only con was the gents stone needs a good scrub..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We did not stay at this pub although looking at the advert for the rooms I would love to go back for a couple of nights. This review is for the food. We entered the pub and found it to be a very friendly, welcoming place. A local and his dog 'Flint' moved so that we had a comfortable place to eat. We also engaged in friendly conversation with the locals. The meals themselves were plentiful and very tasty and good value for money. The beer was good too. I would go back if I visited again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEF2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing