We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Stags Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stags Head
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never again”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It would be easier for me to list the best think about this place but I can't think of one. What's wrong with it. Dirty rooms stained carpets, dusty , unfriendly, no reception, poor breakfast no choice, 2 cereals and 2 fruit juices (not fresh) to choose from, chipped crockery. This would make a good project for the hotel inspector. I f it wasn't for the fact it was last minute, the time of year, only staying for one night, I would have walked away. I had relatives from Australia with me - not a good impression. DON'T BOTHER

Room Tip: Wifi that was only available depending on the weather according to the staff
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SueGJ9862BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    102
    65
    42
    71
See reviews for
53
157
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Quite simply the worst pub in Bowness. Food is poor, staff are rude and incredibly miserable and the ale is overpriced. If you are looking for a good experience, you wont find it here. My tip, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A wonderful Victorian Hotel with a good location that's lost its soul. With no individual interaction with any staff, (note management responses to Trip Addvisor comments) It could have had a vending machine for your room key. At £90 per room its cheap for its location, the car park is pay and display and for 12 hours its another £7. There is no reception just queue in the bar for a room key. The bar has a late licence until 2 am every morning and a Nightclub, this attracts the type of people the hotel wants, and it may be you.
If your on the first floor noise from the bar is a problem and a chorus of happy birthday at 2 am may not go down well, with no phone in the room to contact staff (wonder why) no communication can take place unless you go down to the bar through the open fire doors to complain.
With no hot water, I would think twice about booking this once splendid hotel, its a pub with rooms with no soul.

Room Tip: away from the bar on the top floor.the noise comes through the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here at the wkd with a group of eleven friends. Hotel itself was fairly tidy but rather dated in its decor. Sunday breakfast was served 8 to half 9. !0 o clock would have been more suitable. When one of our party asked for breakfast at 9:32am he was quite rudley turned away by a member of staff who was Scottish and had no idea of the concept of a bedside manner. £90 for a dusty room that wasn't ready for us on arrival didn't help matters either. We won't be staying again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Ok, so it's not luxury five star accommodation but it doesn't propose to be be. The entrance hall and stairs really quite dusty, which initially made me nervous.
We stayed in room 16.... A fairly large room, airy ( the window did open but needed wedging). It was a bit noisy due to overlooking the street but only with the window open and it wasn't too bad and it is very central so unlikely to be quiet!
We stayed mid week so can't comment on what it's like with entertainment.
Essentially the room was clean, sheets very clean. The bed was not particularly comfortable but didn't stop me sleeping though the pillows definitely need renewing as they were anything but soft....no sinking into a soft pillow and drifting off into a beautiful sleep. The bathroom was a good size, very good shower and clean. Shower gel provided but never replaced if used, likewise the tea and biscuits.
My two main gripes were the lack of room cleaning....we were thee days, now I don't expect clean sheets daily but I do expect my bed to be made and my dirty cups taken away and replaced by clean ones, plus replenished obviously used supplies of shower gel etc.... Bit of a shame that didn't happen.
Then it's breakfast.....food was lovely, well cooked and hot. Poor selection and display of cereals and juices etc, but it was available. The staff were very accommodating and polite but it was complete shambles, with the staff complaining to each other (audible to all) that they had more customers than they had guests and that was wrong as they only serve food to guests, yet at no point were we asked to show our key or what room we were in. Every day was the same....disorganised chaos and they all looked totally exhausted and flustered. It would be easy to rectify this, so staff are less stressed and guests don't feel guilty. I have to state again though, the staff were very pleasant and helpful despite the very obvious stress and the hot breakfast good.
Not sure we would return mainly because we rarely go to the same place twice.

Room Tip: If you have family request a quieter room at the back of the hotel.....room 16 good size with a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly49684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked three rooms for Friday 25 July 2014; my boyfriend and I stayed in the Windrmere Suite which I really liked - good size, nice four poster bed, clean (shower a bit drizzly, however!). The other two rooms were unfortunately not so nice - one was not even made up and upon entering, discovered a shirt in the wardrobe, dirty towels on the floor and an un made bed....not to mention it was extremely small (single room). I'd have thought that the "reception" should have said that the room was not yet made! To make matters worse, I noticed that many rooms were in the process of being made up (or about to be) which really isn't great after 2pm....
The third room I'm told was quite grim with a multitude of fungi growing out of the shower and cobwebs in the room. Not worth the £90, despite being very central.
As others mention, the music does go on through the early hours though we found this to be the pub singer not the club music.
Breakfast ok.
I won't be in a hurry to return unfortunately when weighing up the three experiences/ rooms.

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites, they seem a lot better than the average rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey-125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night, great central location, room was okay, nice bathroom, not overly noisy, good breakfast the next morning, stayed before & we would stay again. Staff are really nice. Price was about right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylynnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Property: Stags Head
Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing