We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific place”
Review of Elim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Bad attitude and ruined the whole of our break. No manners or customer service. No professionalism. Cheap and tacky. I would rather stay in a hostel than this b&b....... Smelly - almost forgot.
The place looks like a run down house. I am highly surprised with all the good reviews. Very surprised. Will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Diamondiva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

This is the third attempt by this reviewer to put a review on Trip Advisor, the previous two have both been removed by Trip Advisor. This guest did not stay at Elim Lodge.

The "guest" had booked a family room through Laterooms for 19th February. They arrived at 19.40, asking where to park. My wife showed the lady where to park, on hard standing alongside the car park. Ten minutes later the gentleman guest came in, and said that they were not going to stay. He told us that their friends were staying further down in the village, and they were going to stay with them. We asked was there anything wrong, and he told us it was fine, they were just going to stay with their friends. He then demanded a refund. We explained that, as per his confirmation from Laterooms, if the booking was cancelled less than 7 days before the expected arrival date, he would have to pay for the first night. He told us that in Europe, he could cancel any time he liked, without charge. We replied that he had had to confirm that he had read the conditions before the booking was confirmed, and we would not allow him to cancel so late without charge, as we had no opportunity to resell the room. Please note, the reviewer was not present during this conversation, and I never met her, according to her husband, she was outside in the car. We were totally professional, calm and measured with the guest, who was actually very aggressive with us.

The guests never came in further than the entrance hall, and have given us a bad review purely because they were not allowed to cancel late on the evening of arrival without charge.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We visited Elim Lodge in August with our two daughters aged 8 and 4 and had the double/family room with an adjacent bathroom. On previous visits we stayed in the double ensuite which was at the top of the house.

The B&B is situated really conveniently for Bowness and Lake Windermere - the shops, restuarants, lake and boats were only a short walk away and there was off-road parking which was a bonus. We also used the leisure pass for Parklands Leisure at the Burnside Hotel which is at the other end of Bowness. The girls enjoyed the swimming and we also took advantage of the jacuzzi and steam/sauna room.

The room was clean and comfortable, the furniture maybe could do with a little updating, but it did not affect our stay. The adjacent bathroom was modern, clean and huge! It was accessed via a short corridor with a couple of steps. The double room we stayed in previously was at the top of the house had an ensuite shower room and was full of character (including beams!).

The Cumberland breakfast was a treat. Locally sourced sausage, bacon and eggs, it was all freshly cooked to order. Also available were cereals, juice, croissants, toast, fruit, yoghurt and vegetarian and lighter options.

The hosts, Rodger and Linda really made the stay for us. They are very welcoming, very friendly and down to earth, always ready with a suggestion for a walk. They care about the environment and have an eco/fairtrade ethos, from the tea and coffe right down to the shower gel!

Once again, a warm and welcoming stay, looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Swindlehursts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Many thanks, great to see you again, how the girls have grown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Elim Lodge was really close to shops, & only half a mile from cruises. Also had complimentary passes to health club which was great for the children.Accomodation was adequate for a family room. Hosts were nice and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very warm welcoming hosts, helpful and accomodating when we asked to check in early. Beds comfy, good facilities in room. Slightly dated decor but ties in with age of property. Fantastic breakfast, good quality locally sourced food. Deffinately value for money, only short walk to shops and lakeside. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellyse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have stayed at Elim lodge on 2 occasions and enjoyed it both times. The first room we stayed in was a little on the small side but was ok for 2 nights. The breakfast is very good and the owners made us and our dog feel very welcome.. We hope to be paying another visit quite soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

my husband thinks I'm just crazy. . .but seriously. . .it was beautiful. I'm a HUGE fan of the Lake District anyway, but add a quaint cottage setting with a garden and I wax poetic.

The house was lovely! The gardens were beautiful! It was very convenient to the city center and very easy to find. The couple who owned it were very kind and attentive. The breakfast was wonderful and hot and fast. They were happy to help with any questions, suggestions, or information we needed. We booked the room with the private bathroom outside the room. ..which was different but not inconvenient. It was nice to have private facilities. I would highly recommend this B&B and stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the front and there was some noise, but nothing ear plugs will not take care of. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Many thanks, we think the garden's pretty magical too!!
Hope you've tried the Fried Bread recipe
Take care, Rodger and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent 3 nights at this B&B over a busy bank holiday weekend. The building is located right in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere so restaurants, shops and the bay are all right on your doorstep. Bowness-on-Windermere is also a good choice if you want to explore the whole District. Over 3 days we managed to see all the major lakes and the popular towns such as Keswick, Ambleside and Grasmere.

The room was exactly what we were after; it was spotless, comfortable and included everything you'd expect from a good B&B. There were plenty of breakfast options to choose from, including toast, cereal, muesli, a full English and even a vegetarian choice.

By far the best thing about Elim Lodge is the hospitality provided by the owners. We were enthusiastically welcomed as soon as we arrived and were made to feel at home straight away. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to visit the Lake District and will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: We did not have a shower/bathroom in our room, but it was about 2 metres away. It was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKidd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#34 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White House Hotel
The White House Hotel
#53 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Address: Elim Lodge Elim Lodge Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. Popular local activities include boat trips and water sports on Lake Windermere, as well as walking and hiking in the Lake District National Park. Various shops, boutiques, restaurants and The World of Beatrix Potter in the centre of Bowness are a 2-minute walk away from Elim Lodge Guest House. Kendal is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing