We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nights of pleasure check out from hell!!!”
Review of Elim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2nights of pleasure check out from hell!!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

After spending a lovely couple of days at this homely enivironment, myself and my partner were subjected to what can only be described as very unprofessional outburst from the owner (I.e RODGER)
when departing we were confronted with a very verbal and intimidating manner when asked about payment, we had booked through booking.com and thought all payments were taken in full, beforehand but then RODGER asked for a further payment of one night which we said we had already paid, then he proceeded to jump about waving his arms in a very petulant way, which we both found very disturbing and frightening because of his unpredictable nature.
We thought this was just a one off situation, but whist reading other peoples comments on here it would seem to be a regular pattern. I would of thought someone in his business calibre would handle this matter in a professional and understanding manner. I found RODGER very disturbing with his extreme behaviour, this I gather is a form of manipulation and trying to control a situation that could of easily have been dealt with in a more constructive way that would of made both parties more comfortable in understanding this situation,
The lodges strengths was the unique character of the oldness of the home, thus adding to the homely environment offered by his wife who was outstanding in providing a good value for money service, the location of the lodge was excellent as it was near all the main attractions, the food was to an excellent standard that was unique to customers requirements, I would like to also add his wife worked extremely hard in providing a high standard of customer service but unfortunately RODGER ruined this holistic environment. I feel very sad and disappointed that this situation arose as it gave a very bad impression of the lodge and distroyed the good work of his wife

Room Tip: read all the reviews thoruoghly before making booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FaFiMo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
This is one of those reviews where someone tries to leave without paying, and then takes it out on the host when asked for payment.

What the reviewer totally fails to mention is that she accused us of being dishonest. The booking was an online one, and they had not read the deposit policy, as they had been helped by a friend who, she told us, never makes mistakes. Far from waving my arms about, what I actually did was object to the implication that we were trying to take money to which we were not entitled, got my laptop and showed them, in full detail, what they had booked and what the deposit policy and cancellation policy was, and showed them where it was on the paper confirmation that they had brought with them. The male guest accepted this, but the female guest did not, repeating again and again that her friend never makes mistakes. She also said that she would apologise when she checked her bank statement and saw that she had only been charged once, in fact, I guaranteed her that if there were any mistakes, they could have the accommodation for free. Needless to say, we have not had any apology. My wife was present throughout, and was equally trying very hard to get the guest to accept what was on the Booking.com site, confirmation, and credit card slip from the deposit, which we gave them.

it is so important that if you book anything online, you check the terms and conditions, particularly about payment. It should not be a surprise to anyone that someone who is being accused of being dishonest gets upset. If they had bothered to read what they were booking, this would never have happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    30
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our first visit to Elim Lodge on Biskey Howe Road where we spent four nights, such long nights too, awaiting breakfast time and the "Cumberland" which is probably the best guest house breakfast we have ever enjoyed, actually the nights were very comfortable in the most pleasant and quiet en-suite room. Very clean and well stocked with tea and coffee and chocolate drinks. Its ideally placed for town and the restaurants and cafes and shops, and other walks. Very reasonably priced with proprieters who take an interest and strike a good balance between professionalism and a friendly interest. They also strive to provide a greener experience which is highly commendable. It must be a lot of hard work running a business such as this, we wish the owners contined success and would recommend the Lodge most highly. ps they throw in access to a local larger hotel with swimming pool and other sporting options too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgretSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thanks for the very kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you and your family with us. It is very hard but made all worthwhile when we can provide a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is the 2nd time my wife and 2 nieces have stayed in the Elim Lodge Guest House and yet again we were not disappointed. Room very clean, breakie hearty with plenty of options - location absolutely spot on for visiting attractions, local bars & eateries around Bowness / Windermere.

Roger and Lynda were both spot on and also very kindly kept us informed of weather situation as we travelled down (horrible wintery conditions).
We will certainly be back again..... thanks.

Room Tip: Both trips we have stayed in room number 3 (good for 2 adults / 2 kids) and cannot fault - other fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Many thanks for the feedback. We wish you had told us the others were cold, we could have provided extra heating.

Lovely to see you and the girls again, take care, Rodger and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is our third visit to Elim Lodge, this time for our "25th" wedding anniversary. The hosts are genuinely welcoming and even decorated our room, before we arrived, with balloons and banners (that my daughter had sent to them). It really is in a great location, very close to all the shops and the Lake. The rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast delicious! We will definitely stay here again and think it is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Many thanks, delighted that we made your special day a bit more so, and lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in the double on suite for three nights. We arrived and was greeted in a very welcoming manner. Our room was really cosy, lovely little en suite, just what you needed. Tea and coffee making facilities available for your use. The breakfast is stunning, nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything extra. Very close to town and restaurants, it is up the hill (just bear that in mind). Would definatley book again if we were to visit. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Many thanks, hope the shopping went OK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Very friendly & welcoming. Great fried eggs. You can tell a lot about the service when they take the care to fry an egg to perfection. We stayed in the room with a seperate bathroom. This did not cause any problems. It meant that we could spend more money in the town.

Room Tip: This is a quiet road just off the main drag. You would not know that you were so close to the centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review, if guests want runny eggs, they should be able to have them :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Elim Lodge first week in september,our room was smart ,clean and tidy,our breakfast (full english)was fresh hot and filling,with options for vegetarians,and Rodger and Linda ,the couple who run this b&b are lovely,they are helpful,friendly and accomadating. If you dont stay here you have missed out! I think the people who wrote the previous comment must have got the wrong place,as their review is totally wrong,or they might just be liars,as anyone who stays at Elim will see my review is 100% HONEST.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Many thanks for your kind words, we really do try hard to make all our guests welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Property: Elim Lodge
Address: Elim Lodge Elim Lodge Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing