We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a great location....”
Review of Elim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed at Elim Lodge in June 2008 in a room at the very top of the house. The room was comfortable with a view from the front window. Breakfast was extremely good and very filling with cereal, fruit, juice, hot food and tea and coffee on offer - just what you need before all the walking!
Roger and Linda were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of places to visit.
The weather was not too kind to us while we were there, but during the bright spells we managed to do a lot of walking and sightseeing in the area.
We were able to park our car in their off street parking throughout our stay, never had a problem. Their location is brilliant for Lake Windemere and the village restaurants in in the vicinity are plentiful and good so you do not need to use the car in the evenings. W
We would have no hesitation in staying at the Elim Lodge again..

Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank TwoUKtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed at Elim Lodge for 3 nights during the Windermere Air Show. We chose this B&B because it was in a great position, (didn't need to use the car for Bowness), and had a good family room. We found the room, which was a double and bunks, really spacious for the four of us (children aged 8 and 5), with plenty of storage and tea/coffee making facilities. The road was really quiet, despite being so close to the main tourist area. Breakfast was great, including cereals, juice, fruit, toast, and full english. We were very fortunate with the weather and had chance to sit outside in the garden before going out in the evening. We ate at the Wateredge Inn (Ambleside - one of our favourites), then the Trattoria Tacini italian and Jacksons Bistro in Bowness - all excellent. The air show was great too, so all in all a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We have stayed at Elim Lodge several times now and are always glad to return. The breakfasts are fab, served quickly, hot and fresh, with plenty of choice. The rooms are welcoming and
so are the owners, Rodger and Linda (and Dudley the dog!). They are full of ideas for places to go, but if they're not there to ask then the book provided in the room is full of up-to-date info on places of interest. All in all we love Elim Lodge and will continue to stay there whenever we visit Bowness.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longweekender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2006

The Elim Lodge was a comfortable place to spend a few days. It wasn't luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable and in a nice, quiet & convenient location. For us, the biggest problem was the size of the bed.

We had two rooms - a double on the third floor (low ceiling and was easy to hit your head on the beam), and a quad - double bed with a set of bunk beds. However, because the double bed had a footboard, my 6'5" husband wasn't able to sleep in it (not long enough), so he took the bottom bunk, while one of the children slept with me. The kids were especially taken with the owners' dog!

The breakfast was very good. The Inn Keepers were quick to share their thoughts on where to go. It was fairly cold when we were there, so the leisure club membership (comes with the room) was great -- the kids could swim while we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar overlooking the pool. The Lodge's location was very handy for walking into town....as well as walking up the road to see the views from a park above. Just gorgeous. There was a wonderful Italian restaurant down town!

Parking was limited, but we were lucky to have a space. All-in-all, we would recommend the Elim Lodge as a casual place, convenient to many of the sites around Lake Windermere.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

Stayed here for one night, having arrived fairly late into Bowness and not booked anywhere - this booking was made through the local tourist board office.
Elim Lodge is very well positioned being only a short walk from the high street, restaurants and the Lake.
There was limited off road parking. Our room was right at the top, and was very small with a low ceiling (a fact not mentioned when the booking was made).
Having said that, the owners were very friendly and welcoming. The cooked breakfast was extremley nice and there was a good selection if you wanted something else.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t-m-c-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craig Manor Hotel
Craig Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#36 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Address: Elim Lodge Elim Lodge Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £62 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. Popular local activities include boat trips and water sports on Lake Windermere, as well as walking and hiking in the Lake District National Park. Various shops, boutiques, restaurants and The World of Beatrix Potter in the centre of Bowness are a 2-minute walk away from Elim Lodge Guest House. Kendal is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing