We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of Elim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

On leaving, one of the owners (who we had not seen during our stay) asked for the remainder of our balance. I really believed I had paid in full when booking so of course said this to him. Can I just say this was a genuine misunderstanding as it was not clear on our confirmation from the website we used to book the B&B. On hearing this the owner had what I can only describe as a childs tandrum, shouting and complaining when we asked for the room key back as we had left the confirmation in the room. His behaviour was embarrassing, using the phrase "We don't do people here", there were other guests in the next room eating breakfast. I really felt intimidated and didn't feel able to stand my ground so just ended up paying just to get out of there as fast as possible.

You could not pay me to stay here again, I have never come across such rude behaviour it completely ruined the end of our trip.

Not a good experience....

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank L0la1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elimlodge, Owner at Elim Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Initially, at checkout, the guest told us what a great time they had had, and how much they liked the Guest House. When asked for the balance of the bill, the attitude changed totally. The guest had not read the confirmation policy that she had to confirm that she had read to make the booking, and tried to leave without paying. She was extremeley rude to us, accusing us of trying to take money to which we were not entitled, in front of all our other guests. Even when we showed her the relevant section on the confirmation she had brought with her, which detailed the exact deposit and payment terms, she still insisted that she had already paid in full. Like most organisations, we have a policy of zero tolerance to abuse, and we take great exception to being accused of being dishonest. We had done nothing wrong, and were simply asking for the payment due to us.

We would encourage all our guests to read the booking policy, which is detailed on our website, on the online booking system and on the written confirmation, not just tick a box without reading it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    30
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Very cheerfull and chatty owners from arrival to leaving. We booked a late room the week before and got one of their smaller rooms that was not en-suite but did have it's own private toilet and shower room, the room was clean and suitable for a one night stay with a nice view over the front garden.
The breakfast was well cooked using local produce, also a selection of cereals and hot croissants were available, the breakfast room was nice, clean and pleasant.
We would definately book agan.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoffyMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We spent a day in the lake district & luckily, we stayed at Elim Lodge, owned by the very honest, friendly & efficient couple, Rodger & Linda. The stressful part was when my husband left an expensive bracelet after check out in the a.m. & when he remembered late afternoon, we called them & they couldn't be more honest & helpful in returning the item! They were very helpful when we asked them 2 mail it 2 us since we were out of the area. The b&b is situated in a quite & safe area, comfortable, v. clean w/ nice/new beddings, well-kept garden, comes w/ a daily leisure club pass. It is also walking distance to the high st & the lake. The owners are v. friendly & accommodating, helpful in giving directions. Linda, even when run off her feet serving bfast, would still remember 2 ask if u found ur way ok & if u enjoyed the day. Bfast was bountiful...lots of choices & u can ask for a freshly cooked of either vegetarian or cumberland. There's hot drink facilities w/ choices of tea, coffee, hot choc & biscuits. Also, they are part of an env't-friendly & ethical business. They serve fair trade, free-range & local products, etc., which is important 2 me. All the best guys & thank u very very much for HONESTY!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynethuk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed at Elim Lodge in June 2008 in a room at the very top of the house. The room was comfortable with a view from the front window. Breakfast was extremely good and very filling with cereal, fruit, juice, hot food and tea and coffee on offer - just what you need before all the walking!
Roger and Linda were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of places to visit.
The weather was not too kind to us while we were there, but during the bright spells we managed to do a lot of walking and sightseeing in the area.
We were able to park our car in their off street parking throughout our stay, never had a problem. Their location is brilliant for Lake Windemere and the village restaurants in in the vicinity are plentiful and good so you do not need to use the car in the evenings. W
We would have no hesitation in staying at the Elim Lodge again..

Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TwoUKtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed at Elim Lodge for 3 nights during the Windermere Air Show. We chose this B&B because it was in a great position, (didn't need to use the car for Bowness), and had a good family room. We found the room, which was a double and bunks, really spacious for the four of us (children aged 8 and 5), with plenty of storage and tea/coffee making facilities. The road was really quiet, despite being so close to the main tourist area. Breakfast was great, including cereals, juice, fruit, toast, and full english. We were very fortunate with the weather and had chance to sit outside in the garden before going out in the evening. We ate at the Wateredge Inn (Ambleside - one of our favourites), then the Trattoria Tacini italian and Jacksons Bistro in Bowness - all excellent. The air show was great too, so all in all a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Liked — Spacious family room, friendly atmosphere, great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aintree, Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We have stayed at Elim Lodge several times now and are always glad to return. The breakfasts are fab, served quickly, hot and fresh, with plenty of choice. The rooms are welcoming and
so are the owners, Rodger and Linda (and Dudley the dog!). They are full of ideas for places to go, but if they're not there to ask then the book provided in the room is full of up-to-date info on places of interest. All in all we love Elim Lodge and will continue to stay there whenever we visit Bowness.

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere and friendly hosts
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longweekender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

The Elim Lodge was a comfortable place to spend a few days. It wasn't luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable and in a nice, quiet & convenient location. For us, the biggest problem was the size of the bed.

We had two rooms - a double on the third floor (low ceiling and was easy to hit your head on the beam), and a quad - double bed with a set of bunk beds. However, because the double bed had a footboard, my 6'5" husband wasn't able to sleep in it (not long enough), so he took the bottom bunk, while one of the children slept with me. The kids were especially taken with the owners' dog!

The breakfast was very good. The Inn Keepers were quick to share their thoughts on where to go. It was fairly cold when we were there, so the leisure club membership (comes with the room) was great -- the kids could swim while we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar overlooking the pool. The Lodge's location was very handy for walking into town....as well as walking up the road to see the views from a park above. Just gorgeous. There was a wonderful Italian restaurant down town!

Parking was limited, but we were lucky to have a space. All-in-all, we would recommend the Elim Lodge as a casual place, convenient to many of the sites around Lake Windermere.

  • Liked — Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — Size of double bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk up the hill and look at the view!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#38 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
719 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Lodge

Property: Elim Lodge
Address: Elim Lodge Elim Lodge Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rob and Karen welcome you to Elim Lodge Guest House, an attractive Lake District house, only a short walk from Lake Windermere. Built around 1860 in the traditional local stone and slate style, Elim Lodge is in a pretty part of Bowness village, very close to local attractions and well placed for visiting the enchanting scenery of the Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing