We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B&B in Bowness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Sunderland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab B&B in Bowness”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding and was very pleased with the choice.

The room we had was huge and there was plenty of room for us to have a mini hen-party in it the night before the wedding.

Dave and Manny who run the B&B are very friendly and great hosts. The rates were really reasonable for August and the others in our party who stayed for more nights had nothing bad to say.

Breakfasts were hearty from what I could see, though I could only manage toast!

Perfectly located in Bowness, just off the busy road through the town.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have been to Bowness a few times but this is our first time staying at Lake View. We were on a four night Honeymoon break and were made to feel ever so welcome by our wonderful hosts Dave and Manny. There are only four rooms and I believe all of them are very spacious. As stated previously the little kitchenette with fridge, freezer and microwave was such a bonus. Our bathroom had an amazing view onto Lake Windermere.

The location is perfect, private carpark a short walk away and numerous pubs and eateries within very easy reach. The breakfasts were fab all freshly cooked to order and the perfect start to the day. Dave and Manny were kind enough to share a bottle of Cava with us one evening before we ventured out and their hospitality was perfect. They are really nice guys. Beds were made every day on our return and fresh milk in the fridge.

We will definately be staying here every time we visit and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Bowness. xx

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caractacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This guest house is one of the few places in Windermere which caters for families. Our room comfortably accomodated 2 adults and 3 children with ample space for the luggage we were carrying. The children always came back to the room ready to eat the biscuits which are provided daily. appreciated the jar of milk which we found every day in the refrigerator. We had an armchair near a bay window overlooking the street and it was my favourite spot to enjoy a cup of tea/coffee when we came back from our sightseeing. We had ensuite bathroom with electric shower so hot water was never a problem. There is also a proper hair dryer in the room.

Guest house has reserved parking space for guests which was a blessing.

Location is very close to the promenade in Windermere - with a lot of shops and restaurants all around. The 'World of Beatrix Potter' attraction is only a few minutes walk from the Guest house. There is a Tesco Express within walking distance too.


For breakfast, apart from the typical English breakfast, they also offer a Vegetarian option which is also good, and there is also a selection of cereals and juices along with tea/coffee and hot chocolate, toast and jams.

Dave and Manny are excellent hosts and made our stay very enjoyable - they even gave us driving directions for an easy route to the Airport.

At the end of our stay we felt that we were leaving a friend's house not just a guest house!

Would definitely go back next time I visit the Lake district

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We decided at the last minute to visit Bowness, which is one of our favourite places. Not having booked anywhere to stay before we left Edinburgh, we happened upon Lake View and luckily for us a room was available. From the moment we arrived we were made so welcome and the hosts were brilliant. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and the addition of a fridge containing a jug of fresh milk for our tea and coffee was wonderful (I hate those UHT milk sachets you normally find). Our breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection. Hopefully we will visit again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and found the hotel to be the perfect location to tour the surrounding areas and the local pubs and restaurants (Villa Positano italian restaurant within 100 metres was our particular favourite but there are many other good places to eat nearby).
Manny and Dave are wonderful hosts with nothing being too much trouble, and their warm welcome and approach cetrainly adds to the enjoyment of the stay.
The room we had was spacious and clean and certainly represented excellent value for money, and the breakfasts are fantastic and set up you perfectly for the day!!!
We can't wait to come back again and if we were in the Bowness or Windermere area we'd consider nowhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed at Lake View end of June for the weekend. As always Dave & Manny are very welcoming.
Rooms are clean, comfortable and warm.

Bowness is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Top Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockport1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed here at the end of our Dalesway Walk - the B&B is just at the end of the route. Very good stay - owners made us very welcome. Rooms are clean, comfy and good value for the location. Did find the road outside slightly noisy especially as Bowness appears to attracted stag/hen do's but would stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornflakerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#32 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop

Property: Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Address: 2 Belsfield Terrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Guest House And Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing