We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We arrived in snow and Manny & Dave were very quick to help push our car to safety. They were the perfect hosts from start to finish. We had a large room with a sofa and fridge which is above the norm for a B&B. The breakfast was excellent, we would definitely recommend and will be returning for another relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We have stayed at Lake View before and already know that it will be our base whenever we visit Bowness in the future. I would (and have done) recommend this B&B to others. The rooms are very large, and come with a fridge - so useful, especially if you're staying for a longer period. The B&B couldn't be more central either which is great. To cut what could be a long review short, the Lake View ticks every box; from breakfasts to price and everything in between. The best bit of all though are the hosts, who are incredibly kind, accommodating, friendly and genuinely nice folk - all that you could ask for in B&B hosts. Thank you for another lovely stay and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Lake View. Dave and Manny are very welcoming, helpful and accommodationg hosts who make every effort to ensure that their guests are well catered for and enjoy their stay (as we certainly did). Manny's breakfasts are well prepared, tasty and nourishing. Our room was very spacious, well presented, tastefully furnished and clean. The location is the ideal base for exploring the town and for drives through the Lake District. We highly recommend Lake View for a relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnadj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My wife and I stay with Dave and Manny two or three times a year for short breaks, each time we are treated with excellent service and good wholesome breakfasts.
Dave and Manny are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble, you only need to ask. Can't recommend the B&B, Dave and Manny enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeGerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My wife and I took my elderly mother in law for a week away in the Lake District and Manny and Dave couldn't have been nicer to all of us especially to my mum in law. They had fantastic local knowledge, the breakfast was the best I have ever tasted in years of staying at numerous B&B's around the country and absoloutely nothing was too much trouble for them. The B&B has a very relaxed atmosphere with lovely large rooms with comfy beds and certainly puts some bigger hotels that I have stayed in to shame. God willing, we hope to return to visit the lakes next year and will deffinately stay at The Lakeview Guest House again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theredindian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

From the first email response, I was comfortable that I'd picked a good place. As has been stated many times previously on these pages, you will be well looked after by the very friendly Dave & Manny. We had Room 4 for 7 nights. This is a good size room (made into a triple for us with a camp bed) with its own small sitting room. Plenty of storage. The bedroom looks out on to the bustling street which we didn't find noisy at all and is opposite the oldest building in Bowness (built in 1604 I think). The sitting room has oblique views across roof tops to the lake and hills beyond. There's a large parking lot right outside the window which is where you can park if you arrive by car. It's a short walk up the street and back down the lane to get there. When you arrive, Dave & Manny will bring your gear up for you while you park outside on the double yellows.

The large beds are SO comfortable as are the pillows which is a real treat. Even the camp bed was comfy according to our teenager. One of the best things is the reading lights above the beds - so few hosts think of this and we prefer to read than watch TV.

There's a small fridge and fresh milk is provided with the tea/coffee making facility. There's a TV in the bedroom and another with DVD player in the sitting area. Rooms are kept immaculate; we were out all day every day and I think Dave & Manny must have spent most of the day cleaning our room. I'm pretty sure it got vacuumed, dusted & tidied daily. The towels were changed about every 3 nights. We looked forward to finding our little daily treat when we came back from exploring.

The shower was the best we had on our UK trip - you could even turn around in it which was a bonus. This was also cleaned every day.

We couldn't always access the internet in the room and sometimes sat on the stairs to get a reception. There is a 'no smoking in rooms' policy but we could often smell cigarette smoke wafting up which might irritate some people.

Now to the breakfast. As there are only 4 rooms, the dining room doesn't get too crowded and you'll get served in the order of arrival. Breakfast is only available from 8.30-9.00am which suited us fine but if you wanted to go walking at the crack of dawn or sleep in, I suppose it could be an issue. On the other hand, if you asked in advance, I expect Dave & Manny would happily accommodate you. It's self-serve cereal and juice, then eggs made to order along with mushrooms, tomatoes, potatoes, toast, beans and I've probably left something out. If you try and omit something, Dave will just talk you into it again so be prepared for a BIG breakfast. Some guests were chatty, others kept to themselves but the dining room is small enough that you can compare notes with your neighbours should you wish. Vegetarians and kipper-eaters are catered for. Oh yes, I have forgotten the bacon and sausages. All locally produced fare apparently.

I'm not sure about the 'Coffee Shop' part of its name. I didn't notice it being open other than for breakfast but, then again, we weren't there much after breakfast and I never had occasion to ask.

It rained every single day of our stay but we had a good time in spite of it. Well, I hope that gives you a fair & accurate assessment of our experience. Dave and Manny are the friendliest hosts you could expect to meet and spent plenty of time chatting to us after our days out exploring the beautiful scenery of Cumbria. One evening we were invited to join them for a beer and had a good chat. I think it's true to say that we arrived as guests and left as friends and I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bilasukari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed in a family room with young daughter, plenty of space for the three of us. Was pleasantly surprised with the mini kitchen in one corner with microwave, sink and fridge which was most helpful. The room was comfortable with a good lake view from the bathroom - I certainly didn't see anything wrong with the furniture or furnishings, especially given the good value. We weren't charged for our daughter (she was under 3, however). The room was pleasant and nice to come back to. The hosts could not have been more welcoming, and at the same time were unobrusive. Breakfast was perfect. Shopping and restaurants just across the road, lake cruises very near.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mam029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#31 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop

Property: Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Address: 2 Belsfield Terrace, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Guest House And Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing