We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay House Lake View
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent guest house”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed with friends at the guest house. Maxine and Graeme could not have been more friendly and welcoming and made our stay very memorable. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were compact but were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and ideal for us. The breakfast was excellent both for continental and cooked foods. The guest house is in the very centre of Bowness, perfect for walking around the town but not at all noisy. It was wonderful to be given free parking in the town, very close by the guest house. All in all a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julmic29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    35
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
244
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The owners Maxine and Graham were so welcoming and keen for us to enjoy our stay. Our 2 rooms and en suite bathrooms were small but spotlessly clean and the beds and bedding new. They told us they are new owners and are making improvements to the place.
The breakfast was excellent with a large choice. My friend who had a cooked breakfast said the sausage was a real quality sausage and we thoroughly enjoyed the home made jam and marmalade. A nice additional touch was home made cake in our rooms each day.
It is in a quiet location with only a short walk into the centre and while you have to leave your car in a nearby car park, Maxine will give you a pass so that you do not need to pay for parking.
There are plenty of leaflets for the areas and Maxine will make suggestions.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a lovely weekend my husband and I have just had! Our stay was made enjoyable by our attentive hosts of Bay House Lake View. The location is ideal, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food, including the thoughtful little touches, such as homemade cake and jams are just delicious!
We can't wait to come back next month :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-JFrisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wife and I stayed here for the second time last weekend. Great to see the improvements Maxine and Graham have made since last year. Once again, best breakfast in town, lovely omelettes, lovely lovely marmalade and wonderful cake! Our bed was one of the most comfy we have slept in. Maxine and Graham are very friendly and make you feel at home. We will be back next year, if not before!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a very comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Simply cannot praise Maxine and her beautiful guest house enough.
My recently widowed mum decided to join me for a weekend away but there wasn't a room in my B&B so I booked here.
Mum was treated so well she instantly settled and didn't want to leave!
Owners are quite new and doing lots to improve the place.
I would stay there without a shadow of a doubt.
Mum had lovely double room with view of lake.
It's in a central location but quiet and you can get a parking permit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Holidayer_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been more! From the bedroom which had everything you need (lovely cake!) to Graham's breakfast which really was the best I have ever had, the whole stay was a delight. Nothing was too much trouble for Maxine and we can't wait to come back. I'll certainly be recommending the Bay House to friends - Kevin & Jo, Wirral

Room Tip: All rooms have the same welcome - visit and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanksforthememory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

On arrival this bed and breakfast didnt look too appealing but looks can be deceiving. It has a perfect location with lake view. The hosts were helpful, friendly and on hand to make our stay as relaxing as possible. Clean tidy rooms. Fantastic breakfast served with a varied choice of foods. Parking permit supplied for adjacent car park. We have stayed at several b&b's in Bowness and would not hesitate to return to the Bay House and cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Lake View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Lake View

Property: Bay House Lake View
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay House Lake View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maxine and Graham at The Bay House, nestled on the shores of Lake Windermere in the picturesque village of Bowness in the heart of the Lake District, within 2mins walk of all the restaurants, shops, bars and the Lake. All rooms en suite color TV tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. A perfect location for a few days away.Due to our location we do not have on-site parking however the Rayrigg Road NCP Car Park is only 60 mts away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay House Lake View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay House Lake View Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Bay House Lake View Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing