We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastbourne Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
145
66
30
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
66
30
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bon arrivalother guestsfull englishparking permitquiet areagreat showerthe ground floorsuperior roomtea and coffeeenglish breakfastmin walkcomfortable bedstayed two nightslarge roomshort breakyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Me and my wife have just come back from a break at the Eastbourne House in Bowness. We travelled up on Friday night to be welcomed by the house owner via an intercom!! It was funny but a friendly way to start, but Martin (house owner) buzzed us in and let us in to our fantastic room. There are loads of things to do in bowness at night, we went to the Albert Pub for a nice meal and a few real ales!! Saturday morning we were given a warm welcome and a full English, fresh tea and coffee and fresh orange and apple juice and hot toast! We went for a lovely walk on the other side of the lake that day and then came back to bowness for some hot soup and a hot chocolate!! Saturday night we went to the lighthouse restaurant in windermere for a lovely meal followed by a few more ales!!! Sunday morning we were given another warm welcome and another hot full English breakfast, the hotel is great, a good nights sleep, comfy bed and a nice warm room!! Highly recommended....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trickydolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

had a lovely two night stay in a very clean and tidy guest house the staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was ideal and set you up for the day could not fault anything at all

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 nights. Very comfy memory foam mattress on a Queen bed...slept really well. Lovely large room & very well equipped with a big TV in the corner & 3 seater sofa, almost a bedsit! Beautiful, fully tiled bathroom with VERY hot water!! (jus one query..why is the sink so low?). Superb shower & piping hot radiator/towel warmer thingy. All very clean and well kept. Martin is a real charmer and cooks the best breakfast using local 'Windermere made' sausages (pork & leek the nicest we thought!). Would have liked table cloths but that's just me. His partner Marina scurries around serving breakfasts and servicing the rooms. Very pleasant surroundings with lots of info for visitors in the hall and brollies to use should it rain. Also please note there is plenty of private parking! Just a minutes walk to the main street & shops/restaurants. Two minutes walk to the Lake & hundreds of swans!! Boat trips all over the lake..take a trip!
Highly recommended, will be returing later in the year. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Just tell Martin your needs/preferences and he will advise by email immediately
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Booked for a few days to celebrate my birthday. Had read the trip advisor reviews and was sufficiently happy to book. Would quite happily give 5 *'s but for a few issues such as getting burnt by the towel rail in the on-suite of room, as its a little small. Had a lovely stay and would happily stay again. Thanks Martin and Marina.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marabunta86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for just 1 night but it was wonderful. Once we had got our heads around being welcomed by intercom (which works well and is a great idea once you get used to it) the room was superb, calming,clean, warm and very tasteful. Every detail was thought through, for example not just tea and coffee in the rooms but hot choc, green tea and herbal tea. The bed was amazingly plush and soft with plentiful thick feather pillows. The bathroom looked brand spanking new and I could have stayed in the power shower all day. As it's a kid free hotel it's quiet and peaceful - I don't object to kids, indeed I have 2 (they were with Nanny) but it was a blessed relief to experience such peace for the first time in 5 or so years! The breakfast was a highlight - again every thing was plentiful and nothing too much trouble. Pastries, yogurts, fruit, cereal were all a help yourself extravaganza then a full cooked breakfast with all the trimmings, toast, coffee, tea and juice. I didn't need to eat for a week! Thank you so much - we do hope to come back if we can convince Nanny to babysit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews