We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A snowy stop in the lakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastbourne Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A snowy stop in the lakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night (13th Feb), en route to Edinburgh.

On arrival, the staff were very welcoming and sympathetic with the fact we had travelled the last two miles in heavy snow, so much that we had to put our snow chains on the tyres!

We booked the "suite" which was clean and tidy, and looked as though it had been recently modernised. It was still quite small (the "suite" description just meant it had a sofa as well as a bed) but we were not too fussed as it was just a base for the night, and somewhere a bit more pleasant than a Travelodge to wake up in on Valentine's Day. The bathroom was new and the shower was amazing! There were a few added luxuries in the room, including an iPod dock and tea and coffee making facilities.

In the evening we went for a walk, there is a nice circular track up to a view point very close by (although we couldn't see very far due to the snow clouds!), and then for dinner. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars very locally.

The breakfast was nice, the sausages are apparently award-winning, and I can see why - lovely.

Overall, this B&B was pleasant and served a purpose for us. I would definitely consider staying here longer if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    65
    31
    11
    13
See reviews for
14
195
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the one night. We booked the best room and we did expect a little more than what we actually got. The room was definitely clean and adequate but no more than that.
In the morning, we requested almost identical breakfasts. My wife's was perfect and mine looked like it had been cook an hour before. Mine was dried up and overcooked.

The big question for me is always, "would I stay here again?" The answer to this is, "possibly".

With regards to previous comments regarding language and nationality, I thought Marianna was very pleasant and precise. There was an older lady at breakfast with a foreign accent and I did notice that she was a little bit off-hand with a young couple who asked her something.
I read the guest book at reception and other guests had written very glowing remarks, so they must be doing something right.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lennon4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTHERHAM
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

What a lovely cosy place this was, the owner was a bit eccentric but very funny with it and ceased at nothing to make your stay comfortable.
The room was fantastic a real massive bed, one of those it seems you need a step ladder to get in!
The breakfasts were good and the vegetarian option especially tasty even though I'm a meat eater.
The Guesthouse is a five minute walk into the centre of Bowness where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants,you even get your own front door key so if staying in a pub while throwing out time is your thing there's no problem.
We had a good time at the Eastbourne and wouldn't hesitate in booking again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phonicsfella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

recommend this b&b, the owner martin rang us the morning of arrival to offer us an upgrade from king room to supper king room & mentioned that the room would be ready on arrival(12 midday!) as it wasn't used the night before! the whole place is very clean, service excellent, the breakfast was great(continental & full english) served with tea or coffee(filter, in a caffetier!) cant fault it, thankyou, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank les j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed during the weekend and it was great. When we arrived we were communicating with an intercom and not someone in person (which was a first), but didn't mind at all! Thought it was very different and everything was in our room ready for us (keys and parking permit).
The room was amazing! We were told by the mysterious man behind the intercom (who we really wanted to meet) we were given the biggest room! What a treat :) the bed was huge!!! And so comfortable.
The guest house is a short walk to the centre, which had many restaurants and shops.
Breakfast was nice in the morning with a big selection (was also nice to see someone who worked there too).
I would recommend this guest house because it was a fab weekend away from work and will return for sure!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angelbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this as a well needed break after the madness of Christmas... found this guest house by mistake, and glad we did. The location is fab, the rooms, comfortable and clean, breakfast is brilliant, service amazin, and price very reasonable. an enjoyable couple of days, we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henryjonsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Eastbourne for three nights over New Year, having spent the last two previous New Year's in the Lakes. Our breaks in the previous two years (in Windermere and Ambleside) were excellent and the hosts had gone to real efforts to make sure their guests had a memorable stay over New Year and we have since recommended them to friends and family. It's the extra personal touches that make B&B's and guest houses more appealing over hotels. Unfortunately the same can't be said about the Eastbourne. On arrival we were told via the intercom that the owners were at their other B&B and we could let ourselves in and go straight to the room. On booking we were asked whether we had any special dietary requirements at which point we requested vegetarian and gluten free options. At breakfast we were told that we would have to bring our own gluten free options. Had we known that beforehand we would have done! Compared to other places we have stayed in the area we wouldn't say that it warrants four stars. The stay was adequate but nothing special, which was a shame.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mikat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#22 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Court House
The Old Court House
#32 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing