We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, clean and very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Jeffreys Bay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well appointed, clean and very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Well appointed, clean and very pleasant stay. Will easily recommend this place.

The breakfast was great as well.

Someone complained that there was no-one at reception and they were just told to go to their room. Well what is wrong with that? We found everything waiting for us in our room and settled in immediately.

Really have no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callie_van_Heerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    66
    31
    11
    15
See reviews for
14
202
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed Thursday to Saturday (arrived home yesterday). Martin, the owner, was fantastic, upgraded our room for no extra charge! On arrival we were taken to our room which was on the side of the guest house - it was like having our own little apartment. Really peaceful, spotlessly clean and really warm! Shower was amazing, breakfast was lovely with cereals and juice and then a range of different breakfasts. We had full english on both days - no complaints! My only tip would be to get there early for parking, think there was 7 spaces. We left our car parked up and walked so as not to lose our space.
Definately stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the king size room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa27875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night (13th Feb), en route to Edinburgh.

On arrival, the staff were very welcoming and sympathetic with the fact we had travelled the last two miles in heavy snow, so much that we had to put our snow chains on the tyres!

We booked the "suite" which was clean and tidy, and looked as though it had been recently modernised. It was still quite small (the "suite" description just meant it had a sofa as well as a bed) but we were not too fussed as it was just a base for the night, and somewhere a bit more pleasant than a Travelodge to wake up in on Valentine's Day. The bathroom was new and the shower was amazing! There were a few added luxuries in the room, including an iPod dock and tea and coffee making facilities.

In the evening we went for a walk, there is a nice circular track up to a view point very close by (although we couldn't see very far due to the snow clouds!), and then for dinner. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars very locally.

The breakfast was nice, the sausages are apparently award-winning, and I can see why - lovely.

Overall, this B&B was pleasant and served a purpose for us. I would definitely consider staying here longer if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the one night. We booked the best room and we did expect a little more than what we actually got. The room was definitely clean and adequate but no more than that.
In the morning, we requested almost identical breakfasts. My wife's was perfect and mine looked like it had been cook an hour before. Mine was dried up and overcooked.

The big question for me is always, "would I stay here again?" The answer to this is, "possibly".

With regards to previous comments regarding language and nationality, I thought Marianna was very pleasant and precise. There was an older lady at breakfast with a foreign accent and I did notice that she was a little bit off-hand with a young couple who asked her something.
I read the guest book at reception and other guests had written very glowing remarks, so they must be doing something right.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lennon4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTHERHAM
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

What a lovely cosy place this was, the owner was a bit eccentric but very funny with it and ceased at nothing to make your stay comfortable.
The room was fantastic a real massive bed, one of those it seems you need a step ladder to get in!
The breakfasts were good and the vegetarian option especially tasty even though I'm a meat eater.
The Guesthouse is a five minute walk into the centre of Bowness where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants,you even get your own front door key so if staying in a pub while throwing out time is your thing there's no problem.
We had a good time at the Eastbourne and wouldn't hesitate in booking again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phonicsfella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

recommend this b&b, the owner martin rang us the morning of arrival to offer us an upgrade from king room to supper king room & mentioned that the room would be ready on arrival(12 midday!) as it wasn't used the night before! the whole place is very clean, service excellent, the breakfast was great(continental & full english) served with tea or coffee(filter, in a caffetier!) cant fault it, thankyou, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed during the weekend and it was great. When we arrived we were communicating with an intercom and not someone in person (which was a first), but didn't mind at all! Thought it was very different and everything was in our room ready for us (keys and parking permit).
The room was amazing! We were told by the mysterious man behind the intercom (who we really wanted to meet) we were given the biggest room! What a treat :) the bed was huge!!! And so comfortable.
The guest house is a short walk to the centre, which had many restaurants and shops.
Breakfast was nice in the morning with a big selection (was also nice to see someone who worked there too).
I would recommend this guest house because it was a fab weekend away from work and will return for sure!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angelbee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claremont Belair
Claremont Belair
#34 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing