We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you get a cheap bargain - or else not really worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Positives:
Eastbourne is walking distance from the Pier and close to all the good restaurants. They provide dedicated parking space for each room. The check-in and check out process is quite hassle-free (as pointed out in other reviews, we never happen to meet the owner!) - money gets deducted from the card you provide during booking and you hand over the keys and parking permit to the ladys managing the property.

Negatives:
The B&B staff do not understand English and not at all welcoming! We wanted to enquire about vegetarian brkfast options and they lady just walked off assumed what we wanted and got us something. They don't talk to you properly. Everday walking down to the breakfast table was a challenge!! The food though was quite decent.

Room Tip: Go for the Super King room (number 3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank amipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Not really impressed, room was clean but l dropped something on the floor my husband lifted the bed it certainly has not been cleaned for months someone's straightners still under bed. Was kept awake most of the night by something on roof rattling all night in the wind (2 nights)On arrival no one to greet you just an intercom owner was in car answering it, and hung up while my husband was still talking to him. We never saw the owner at all, just the staff who at one point when we returned to our room at 11.15 told us house keeping was cleaning 10 to 12 saying l don't know I don't know she wanted us to come back at 12. We went up to the room anyway. Room 6 wasn't a good room was more disappointed because it was my birthday on the Saturday. Breakfast ok nothing special asked for mushrooms and received a stern NO. Cannot fault the location, we love the lakes always come in March but will not be returning to this B & B.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
20  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We arrived on a Friday early evening but stood outside ringing the bell and the phone for some time but no one answered, after a wait we were eventually shown to our room. The introduction was very rushed and abrupt and not made to feel very welcomed. The breakfast was very average, no milk left out for cereals and again when greeted to,take our order we found it was very abrupt again. The quality of the food also seemed low budget and was lacking taste. The wifi did not work due to poor signal and the tv kept losing signal in the room also. On the plus side the room was lovely and clean plus the bathroom had an amazing power shower! Which was nice after a long cold day out hiking.

However we will definitely not be visiting again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Rebecca648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Eastbourne Guest House, firstly it is in a brilliant location 2 minutes walk to the center of bowness, and 5 mins from the lake. Just up the road is a stunning view point of the lake.

On arrival we were up-graded to the king-size room free of charge, this room was lovely, clean and at the side of the property so was like our own apartment! It had a great shower, tv (dvd), tea making facilities, iron and ironing board and hair dryer!

The breakfast was tasty, with a great vegetarian option. Marianna was helpful and smiley, and the other waitress was friendly also.

We love the Lakes and Bowness, this was a great stay, would definately recommend for others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Well appointed, clean and very pleasant stay. Will easily recommend this place.

The breakfast was great as well.

Someone complained that there was no-one at reception and they were just told to go to their room. Well what is wrong with that? We found everything waiting for us in our room and settled in immediately.

Really have no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callie_van_Heerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed Thursday to Saturday (arrived home yesterday). Martin, the owner, was fantastic, upgraded our room for no extra charge! On arrival we were taken to our room which was on the side of the guest house - it was like having our own little apartment. Really peaceful, spotlessly clean and really warm! Shower was amazing, breakfast was lovely with cereals and juice and then a range of different breakfasts. We had full english on both days - no complaints! My only tip would be to get there early for parking, think there was 7 spaces. We left our car parked up and walked so as not to lose our space.
Definately stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the king size room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa27875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night (13th Feb), en route to Edinburgh.

On arrival, the staff were very welcoming and sympathetic with the fact we had travelled the last two miles in heavy snow, so much that we had to put our snow chains on the tyres!

We booked the "suite" which was clean and tidy, and looked as though it had been recently modernised. It was still quite small (the "suite" description just meant it had a sofa as well as a bed) but we were not too fussed as it was just a base for the night, and somewhere a bit more pleasant than a Travelodge to wake up in on Valentine's Day. The bathroom was new and the shower was amazing! There were a few added luxuries in the room, including an iPod dock and tea and coffee making facilities.

In the evening we went for a walk, there is a nice circular track up to a view point very close by (although we couldn't see very far due to the snow clouds!), and then for dinner. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars very locally.

The breakfast was nice, the sausages are apparently award-winning, and I can see why - lovely.

Overall, this B&B was pleasant and served a purpose for us. I would definitely consider staying here longer if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing