We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My boyfriend and I only had a couple of days away at this hotel and we found it to be very welcoming and accommodating. Situated in a great location, close to the local village, we had no issues at all. Would book here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimby_m85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Room and facilities 8/10. Hospitality and warmth of welcome 0/10. I was baffled at the lack of warmth on our entrance when we were greeted by a lady whose English was far from perfect and who also sported a large stain on her t shirt. As we were shown to our room a simple question about the parking situation led to her not answering the question properly with an attitude which can only be described as dismissive. Putting this aside I enjoyed our first night at the establishment, however, on the morning of our first breakfast I met the owner for the first and only time at which point I had already decided not to mention the sticky stains all over my placemat, at no point did he say hello or welcome or show any signs of friendliness. A simple breakfast request by myself was completely ignored. Also, having billed the breakfast as a full English to receive only one slice of toast I found completely inadequate as this establishment charges £50 per person per night. My girlfriend's simple request for the vegetarian option, which is on their menu, seemed to throw him into a panic which made us both feel uncomfortable and like he was going to burn his kitchen down so much so, in fact, that we decided not to take breakfast there on the second morning of our stay for which we had paid hard earned money. All in all, having both travelled extensively, we came to the conclusion we have never stayed anywhere more inhospitable or with a complete lack of soul. It is the equivalent of staying in a cheap hotel where you use a card and has no staff. Give it a wide berth.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
23  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice clean and friendly. A short stroll from the main town but remains nice and quiet. Rooms nice and big bathrooms sparkling breakfasts cooked on request to your personal preference. Very nice would come again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay here in August 13. We were greeted by the housekeeper who showed us to our room. We stayed in room 3-a huge king size room which was beautiful and very clean. It had the usual tea and coffee making facilities along with a coffee machine too. The room was serviced daily and we really couldn't fault it. The breakfast was lovely, a range of cereals were offered along with croissants and a traditional full english and a pot of tea or coffee. The breakfast was well cooked and served with a smile. When we checked out we were told we are always welcome. Reading some of the other reviews it does seem like we stayed in a different place....but I guess there just no pleasing some people!
The guest house is less than 5 mins walk to restaurants a plenty, it really is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the 1st floor,it has a queen size bed, a large sofa,a 32in tv and is very spacious. no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Second time in Bowness & we unfortunately choose another b&b as our usual was fully booked. I read most reviews and one stood up for me and now i have to agree.
Rude,homophobic & aggressive hostess. The meaning of a good greeting & welcoming customers is known to this person. I like to point out that i call her "she" as i don't know her name as she never introduced herself. At breakfast, once again no greeting and politeness is inexistent.
Room is dull yet clean. Only one window can be open. The stink of breakfast bacon & smoke fills the house.
If you are gay like i am don't bother coming in here spend your pink pound somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank MRDARCYLONDONUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

5 night stay early August. Were moved to the largest room, room 1 after 2 nights as we were staying longer then the other guests. No extra charge for the larger room. Clean, comfortable, quiet area and great breakfast. Very welcoming. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my partner stayed at The Eastbourne last night. The room we had (number 3) was a very well presented clean spacious room with all facilities you require for a comfortable pleasant stay. The hotel its self is tucked away up a side street and offers private parking spaces. Its a 5-10 minute walk to Bowness town centre and Lake Windermere its self. Breakfast was good with a choice of cereal, youghurts, plus a full English breakfast (vegetarian option available- for those of you like me that are non meat eaters), fresh tea and coffee and prompt service by staff. Would highly recommend to stay at the Eastbourne fantastic value for money. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiemc1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#26 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#32 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#36 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing