We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Skipton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very rude staff”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

When we first arrived the manager welcomed us via the intercom and the room was satisfactory.The problem was the staff at breakfast. There was very much a feeling of Fawlty Towers to it all.On arrival we were abruptly told by the breakfast staff to sit down at a table with another couple.When my girlfriend asked if we could sit at a free table by the window the staff started speaking to each other in a foreign language.They refused to allow us to have our own table (probably because they couldnt be bothered moving a few plates that were left there) and the whole dining room looked at us which was very awkward.The breakfast room had the atmosphere of a school canteen as everybody sat there quietly looking shocked by the rudeness off the staff. This didnt ruin the trip-Bowness is a lovely place but I wont stay here again and there are lots of places to stay.As I stated the owner seemed nice enough but he really needs to take a look at his incompetent staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MasterchefSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    66
    31
    11
    15
See reviews for
14
202
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Eastbourne from the 20th - 23rd February with two friends rooms extremely clean en-suite spotless wanted to bring the bed home it was so comfy.
Marina and staff could not do enough for us, breakfast very good, tea and coffee in the rooms.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay. We will be back.
Just wish the weather has been better.

Couple from Rugby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
284 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had booked Room 8 for two nights. B and B easy to find and very handy for everything in Bowness, but still very quiet and peaceful at night. Lovely big and comfy bed; en-suite perfect with large white towels,and everything was very clean. Breakfast was also very good. Marina and her staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 8 very spacious, super king size bed extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visited Eastbourne Guest House with some friends for 2 nights 24th & 25th January just for a short break. The roomes are very spacious and well equiped our rooms also had a sofa. The rooms are furnished to great standard and are all individual. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was excellent. There is also designated parking. It is about 10 minute walk into the centre of Bowness. Overall excellent stay!

Room Tip: As the hotel is off the main road it is reasonably quiet anyway, There is only 1 ground floor room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannywarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at the eastbourne was just as enjoyable as the first. If you want a good decent B&B that's reasonable, comfortable, clean and serves a good breakfast I would highly recommend this guest house.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

nice stay the price we paid was very fair indeed, nice breakfast only down side for us at the end of the day we could have done with a night cap so an honest bar or something along those lines would have been ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Usual greeting on arrival press the intercom on the front door greeted by Martin the owner follow the instructions someone will be down to meet you ASAP. In our case marina was already there. We were shown to room 10, our usual room lovely modern, cosy, perfect for the two of us ! Bathroom did smell ever so slightly of cigarette smoke ? As non smokers this did stand out every time we entered our room ! This could have been from previous guests? Parking permit provided which makes things easy. Breakfast fantastic and added bonus ! Full English with toast croissant tea coffee all the juices and cereals you can eat and drink ! We swapped some items on the breakfast not a problem and veggie option available ! Perfect for us ! Reasonably priced, clean and modern room, with a big breakfast ! Will be returning next year !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OleGunnarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claremont Belair
Claremont Belair
#33 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing