We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked for a single night, and was very impressed by the room. Lovely and clean and a nice comfy bed gave a great night's sleep. Excellent breakfast in the morning set us up for the day. Managed to leave my kindle in the room but Martin couldn't have been more helpful in posting it out to me. We've found a bit of a jewel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    66
    31
    11
    15
See reviews for
14
203
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just back from a nice weekend at this Guest House. I'd read mixed reviews before going but to be honest I had absolutely nothing to complain about. We asked for a late departure so we were asked if we would accept a smaller room, however we had our own private entrance at the side of the house which was excellent as we didn't have to disturb other guests when we came and went throughout the weekend and no one disturbed us either. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean, more than enough hot water for showers and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was included and it was very good. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for room 10. This has a private access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

When we first arrived the manager welcomed us via the intercom and the room was satisfactory.The problem was the staff at breakfast. There was very much a feeling of Fawlty Towers to it all.On arrival we were abruptly told by the breakfast staff to sit down at a table with another couple.When my girlfriend asked if we could sit at a free table by the window the staff started speaking to each other in a foreign language.They refused to allow us to have our own table (probably because they couldnt be bothered moving a few plates that were left there) and the whole dining room looked at us which was very awkward.The breakfast room had the atmosphere of a school canteen as everybody sat there quietly looking shocked by the rudeness off the staff. This didnt ruin the trip-Bowness is a lovely place but I wont stay here again and there are lots of places to stay.As I stated the owner seemed nice enough but he really needs to take a look at his incompetent staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MasterchefSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Eastbourne from the 20th - 23rd February with two friends rooms extremely clean en-suite spotless wanted to bring the bed home it was so comfy.
Marina and staff could not do enough for us, breakfast very good, tea and coffee in the rooms.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay. We will be back.
Just wish the weather has been better.

Couple from Rugby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had booked Room 8 for two nights. B and B easy to find and very handy for everything in Bowness, but still very quiet and peaceful at night. Lovely big and comfy bed; en-suite perfect with large white towels,and everything was very clean. Breakfast was also very good. Marina and her staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 8 very spacious, super king size bed extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visited Eastbourne Guest House with some friends for 2 nights 24th & 25th January just for a short break. The roomes are very spacious and well equiped our rooms also had a sofa. The rooms are furnished to great standard and are all individual. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was excellent. There is also designated parking. It is about 10 minute walk into the centre of Bowness. Overall excellent stay!

Room Tip: As the hotel is off the main road it is reasonably quiet anyway, There is only 1 ground floor room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannywarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at the eastbourne was just as enjoyable as the first. If you want a good decent B&B that's reasonable, comfortable, clean and serves a good breakfast I would highly recommend this guest house.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing