We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eastbourne Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good and Bad !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Arrived later than expected due to a bad accident on the road into Bowness so had to find an alternative route which mad us later that expected as you have to check in before 6.00 pm !! there is an intercom in the porch but after about 10 minutes of trying to get someone to answer the door we rang the mobile number on the notice in the porch and the owner said his wife would walk round and let us in... I got the impression that she was not happy about this and thought we hadn't done the intercom correctly however after she made several attempts to get the housekeeper to answer the door she eventually used her keys to let us in.. I just felt that we were an inconvenience to her ... bit like a naughty kid !!! Room was a reasonable size but not huge,, I had booked the Large King Size room at £205 for 2 nights the bed was very comfortable but the extra large shower wasn't very large!!! quite a small bathroom but adequate and clean... Curtains were very thin and let the light in ... Settee TV etc and Kettle... also a coffee maker but no capsules for it !!! no bedside table or shelves so no where to put your book, glasses, phone etc not the end of the world but inconvenient... breakfast was 8.45 - 9.30 but my son was doing the Great North Swim and we had to be at the ferry terminal for 8.30 so not very good but as the breakfast room was open we managed to get a bowl of cereal each We did manage to have breakfast on the Sunday morning but I cant say I was very impressed with it. Rooms have to be vacated by 10.00 am and whilst this is about the same as everywhere else I felt that if we were not out of our room on the dot it would have been made clear to us that we should be on our way ... Nice decor but not exceptional and no warmth or welcome would be my summing up !!

Room Tip: I never saw any of the other rooms so cant make a recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shamil2n43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    65
    31
    11
    14
See reviews for
14
199
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have recently stayed here for the second time and the hotel is faultless. The room, location, breakfast, cleanliness, parking. What more can I say !! Well done Eastbourne !!. from a very happy guest.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

my wife and I stopped the one night.
we booked the small double room No 5 I think.
bathroom was small but the room was spotless.
breakfast was not included which I wasnt aware of which was dissapointing but not the end of the world in Bowness.
Parking was included you just need a permit which is in your room.
short walk downhill into town centre.
would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a bigger room. make sure breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVESLIFETOTHEFULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent two nights in this lovely guesthouse at the end of May (Bank Holiday). We were in Room 10 which has its own entrance door on the side of the building which we found very handy.
The room was very clean, quite small, had kettle, iron, even ironing board !! The bathroom was large with a large shower cubicle but no bath but that didnt bother us at all. No children allowed which suited us too.
Breakfast was nice, cereals, juice, choice of continental or full english,
Its a slight downhill walk to the town where there are lots of pubs and restaurants, we loved it and will definately be going back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building have large bays windows with large sofas and the decor is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_20072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Was a 50th. birthday present from my partner. Welcome warm, room spacious, breakfast excellent. Would definitely return and not hesitate to recommend to friends and family. Thank you all for making my birthday stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeylandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked 2 nights over the internet & in 10 mins of doing so we got a phone call of the owner thanking us for choosing their b&b & that we have chose there smallest room & there is no parking with that one so would we like to upgrade for another £21 so we did. When we got there & went to our room we was very surprised by the largeness of the room, it had a dressing table & chair with a large mirror on it, leather settee, large mounted mirror, 40" flat screen tv on a tv stand, kettle & coffee maker with all different kinds of coffee, tea & hot chocolate. The bathroom had a power shower & all the walls & floor were slate tiles & very clean. Breakfast ( full english ) was very tasty & the staff could`nt do enough & kept asking us do we want anymore tea, coffee & toast. The b&b is a few yards set back from a main road so nice & quite, it`s just a small walk to everything so we found it to be a good base & will be booking this b&b for a week in september.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We'd booked in to another hotel in Bowness (that turned out to be a hell-hole) and so looked around for another place to stay at last minute. Martin & Marina (the owners) were fantastic, they popped over to show us their last available room and it was great. We were visiting for my girlfriend's birthday so wanted somewhere comfortable, clean, warm and homely - Our room at Eastbourne Guest House was definitely that.

The room was situated just off the main entrance hall (which wasn't exactly ideal - hearing other guests coming and going) but we really couldn't fault the place otherwise.

Located just a short walk up the hill from the town it was almost silent - you couldn't hear a noise (perfect!) away from the hustle and bustle in the town below. I loved the extremely comfortable bed and the other little touches too, like fresh milk brought to the room rather than UHT!

The next morning at breakfast we were greeted with a smile, again extremely friendly. The breakfast itself was fairly basic (I had bacon and egg muffins, my girlfriend had a full English) - so could've been slightly better, but can't really complain.

Was a great stay, would love to return again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#26 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Court House
The Old Court House
#30 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Guest House

Property: Eastbourne Guest House
Address: Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastbourne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional and comfortable "adult only" Guest House with character features. Superior rooms have power showers and superior pocket sprung with memory foam beds with a choice of 5' King or 6' Super King beds. We also have saver doubles and kings for those travelling on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eastbourne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Eastbourne Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing