We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent b&b”
Review of Oakfold House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakfold House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome from the new owners Marnie and Max who then made our stay with them very comfortable, even though new to the area they recommended things to do and restaurants which were enjoyable Thank you and wish them every success

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Allison,

Marnie and I are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Oakfold House. We would love to see you again some time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 and absolutely loved it. Maxwell and Marnie were incredible hosts, super friendly and helpful. Staff member Carol was also extra friendly and knowledgeable about the house's history. They really made us feel welcome. The room was lovely, nicely decorated and clean; we slept wonderfully on the comfortable bed.

The B&B is really well situated; close to the lake and the village of Bowness-on-Windermere but also not too far from the town of Windermere and the train station there.

The breakfast is amazing here. Highly recommend the full English breakfast (vegetarian and regular) as well as the poached eggs breakfast.

Thanks so much and we hope to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Marissa,

We are very pleased that we added an amazing experience to your visit to Cumbria. We hope that we will be able to see you again some time soon.

Thank you
Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 21 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiyo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank amducias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xdeng_943013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fengl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Address: Oakfold Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £64 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing