We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“(Rob W) Excellent service, convenient location”
Review of Oakfold House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakfold House
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“(Rob W) Excellent service, convenient location”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Max and Marnie, the new owners, are very welcoming, friendly and helpful, especially re activities, places to eat, sightseeing..My single room was comfortable, modern, very clean, with good facilities, small but adequate. Very good attention to detail. Dining room could feel a little cramped if the B and B is full.. The location is very good, very quiet but just a few minutes walk to town centre, restaurants, shops lake and ferries. I was given a great takeaway breakfast as I had a very earl departure on my last day. I would definitely stay there again, I wish M and M all the best in their new venture..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    71
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
209
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were warmly greeted by both Marnie and Max the new owners who offered to take our bags to the room on the 2nd floor (no lift-well it is a guest house). The room was adequate but short of drawer space for more than the overnight stay. Great views over the valley to Bowness , nice fresh bed linen, lots of towels, nice toiletries, even a corkscrew and glasses.
Spacious shower room with lots of hot water.
The room has a few issues, but Marnie explained it was shortly to have a major refurb.
We found the dining room a little cramped with little room on the tables for all the breakfast bits and pieces but a well presented breakfast.
We found the residents lounge a dull miserable room and not the one shown in the brochure, that is now the dining room with the once dining room , now the lounge, but as you have a telly in your room - does it matter.
In all a pleasant stay with lovely people, we wish you every success in your new venture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to receive guest comments about Oakfold House. We are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, that Oakfold House is good value and that the location was convenient.

Marnie and I have been running Oakfold House for a short amount of time. We have now been open for 1 month today. One of the first things that we did was to change the breakfast room from the old living room to the new space. We felt that the new dining area would be lighter and provide more space for our guests. We also observed that the living area was not being utilised as much as we would have hoped and so wanted to make the most of this fantastic room and light.

With the room being larger, we are able to seat more of our guests at more convenient times to suit them. Unfortunately we realise that we are limited with regards to the sizes of the tables that we can place within the room. Overall this has been well received by our guests.

We acknowledge that the current lounge, that was the old dining room, is not the brightest, and this was one reason for changing the rooms around. We will look to make this more inviting in due course.

There are plans to bring in a professional photographer to take fresher pictures that will then be used for publicity of Oakfold House. We are however limited in terms of timing this as Oakfold House is popular and is fully booked for the coming weeks. We will endeavour to identify the sites that we are advertised on through third parties and ensure that they reflect a better picture of the lounge and living spaces.

It is our intention to block out a couple of rooms for refits (out of season), and so your comments regarding drawer space will be considered during this project.

Your comments are gratefully received, and can only help us develop our service for future customers.

Kind regards
Max and Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Family stay with 2 older children and dog.Great location for walking. Fantastic service, dog made welcome, great breakfasts, good advice re activities in the area. Comfortable beds and good room facilities inc tea, coffee, wine glasses and a corkscrew! Very clean and comfortable, great value for money. Good luck to the new owners. Good dog friendly pubs in the town are The Angel Inn and The Albert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyme
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights for the blues festival. The guest house is lovely, Max and Marnie very welcoming and friendly. Facilities very good, room a touch on the snug side but great shower, nice toiletries, loads of towels. Some real nice touches such as tea pot in the room, glasses and corkscrew. Breakfast lovely and a wide choice. Close enough to town but quiet. Will definitely be back for the blues next year if not before. Thank you Max and Marnie and best wishes. Joanne and Ade, Newcastle

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed two nights at Oakfold and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Max and Marnie have only been running it for a few weeks but you would think they had been there for years. I received a very warm welcome and both were really friendly and helpful. Room 5 under the eaves was cosy and comfortable as well as being beautifully decorated.
The lake and shops were just a short stroll away and there's even a nice restaurant just on the corner if you don't want to walk far after a long day of exploring.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahP138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

A very warm welcome from Max we stayed in room No 2 which was very nice, breakfast was good location good with the added bonus of on site parking, all in all a very pleasant and relaxing 3 night stay, thanks to Max and Marnie and best of luck in your new venture.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Mr and Mrs Odurny,

Thank you for your feedback. We are both very pleased that you found your stay at Oakfold House relaxing. We are doing our best to ensure that everyone is able to relax and enjoy the town. It is nice to hear that you liked our breakfasts.

Thank you
Max and Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived to a very warm welcome from the new owners Marnie and Max who then made our stay with them very comfortable, even though new to the area they recommended things to do and restaurants which were enjoyable Thank you and wish them every success

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Allison,

Marnie and I are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Oakfold House. We would love to see you again some time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Property: Oakfold House
Address: Oakfold Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing