We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”
Review of Oakfold House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakfold House
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the oakfold house for 1 night, the after arriving slightly early the room wasn't quite ready, however, Max and Marnie were very apologetic and made sure everything was ready very quickly. The bed was very comfortable, en-suite was spot-less and the breakfast was very tasty. Will definitely be staying at Oakfold house again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiallS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
215
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Max and Marnie gave us a friendly welcome.We stayed there for 3 nights, the room was clean and fresh. I guess the rooms were cleaned daily. The full english breakfast was very tasty and excellent, never really tried anything else. They have free wi-fi, board games, book etc. Enough to keep he kids busy. The location is also quite good as Bowness is 10 mins walk. Will definitely recommend it for all, especially for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SBhaduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We needed a hotel when we attended the " Great North Swim" 13/14 June 2014 we chose Oakfold House based on the previous ratings and feedback and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 8 which is a family room. The room is not huge but was more than adequate for our needs ( children 8&5 years old). The children absolutely loved the bunk beds which are built into a small alcove/recess directly off the main bedroom and have their own curtain doorway. The room benefits from an internal hallway that links the on suite bathroom to main bedroom and is ideal for shoes and coats etc. The room was clean and furnished to a good standard, the double bed was very comfortable and we all slept very well on both nights.

The available storage was good but we do tend to travel fairly light as a family. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and the children thought the biscuits were great quality. Overall we really liked the room and it made an ideal base for our trip


Max and Marnie were very welcoming and clearly wanted to make sure our stay was a good and trouble free as possible. Although they are relatively new owners of the hotel and have only recently entered the hospitality industry they appear to be focused on building a good reputation for quality and service. The breakfast room does feel compact when full but I am glad they have moved its location within the hotel, the room is bright and benefits from the high Victorian ceiling. The quality of the breakfast was excellent we sampled the cereals, yoghurts, croissants, toast and the full English breakfast which was very tasty and, best of all ,well cooked (no grease).
There are areas of the hotel that do need a make over - the lounge in particular but it was clear from talking with Max that they have plans to make continuous on going improvements. We will be using this hotel again and as soon as the dates for next years swim are known we will be making another booking. You will not be disappointed if you book - finally as others have said it also is in a fantastic location, far enough aware from the centre of Bowness to be quiet but then only a 5 minute downhill walk(10 mins coming back) to the lakeside.

Kevin and Shelley Stevens

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asbile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Max and Marnie provided a friendly warm welcome. On 7the June we stayed in room one for one night, the room was excellent and clean, wifi is free with a good connection. We had a full English breakfast which was really nice.. Will definitely visit Oakfold again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Oakfold House Bowness-on-Windermere

Location: Top end of town, just off the Main Street of town. Approx 10 min walk to waterfront. Lots of different eating places and shops along the Main Street.

Parking: free parking at the back of the hotel.

Hotel overall: clean and comfortable. Reasonably well maintained three levels typical English style so pack light if your not up for carrying luggage up stairs (this is the case all across England, so nothing unexpected). Small outdoor sitting area in nice weather.

Reception: friendly welcoming and helpful. Offered hot chocolate as don't drink tea & coffee.

Room: very compact for there people, but comfortable for the time we were in the room. Minimal room to store cases let alone open them. Beds comfortable and bathroom decent size. Lacking power points for charging items, so had to unplug lamps to use power to charge.
1 small soap given for three night stay no not replaced.
You can hear people in the room next to you as walls not thick.
Bathroom: Reasonable size, good water pressure for shower.

Bed: double and a single, comfortable.

Breakfast: included in our booking, continental or hot. Home cooked, good quality, reasonable selection.

Internet: free and reasonable speed!

Would I stay again: Yes

Room Tip: Lower rooms easier for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed in this Guest house for many years and the quality has been kept with the new owners. All rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. Breakfasts are good and nothing is too much trouble. Good location, can walk to shops and lake! Children welcome, which is a plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Max and Marnie provided a warm welcome. The room we stayed in was excellent, clean, lots of character and a great ensuite. Plenty of choice for breakfast, the Full English was really nice. Located just a few minutes from the Lake but lovely and quiet. Will definitely visit Oakfold again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Property: Oakfold House
Address: Oakfold Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing