We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year break”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Year break”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for New Year. Excellent location, right in the centre of Bowness with good parking available. Our room was a good size, overlooking the lake with fantastic views, and a private bathroom next door which was a very good size. We were able to watch the new year fireworks over the lake from the hotel. Ivy and Doug were really friendly and helpful, especially as we had problems with our car and ensured we were able to contact a garage on New Years Eve and drop off our car for repair. A lovely buffet was provided for guests on New Years Eve. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is two minutes walk from the Hole in the Wall pub, a lovely quaint old fashioned pub.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments they are much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    63
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
196
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Our stay at the New Hall Bank was really nice.
Our room was number 12 and right at the top of the house, but the view when we arrived of Lake Windermere was stunning and I would advise booking one of the superior rooms as it really makes a difference.
Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated, the only minor point is the bathroom and toilet for this room are across the hallway in different rooms which means risking pyjama clad encounters with other guests in the middle of the night.
This wasn't a huge problem for us but I can well imagine it may not be to everybody's taste.
There was also only decaff coffee in the room and a sign told us we would be charged if we asked for any more.
The owner Doug is lovely and gave us lots of helpful advice and information about what to do. He is really friendly and let us stay on the car park until after lunch on the day we left which was nice. He makes a huge difference to the experience.

Breakfast was nice but it is only served in a small window between 8.15am and 9am which means a lie in is pretty much out of the question. Especially on check out day as you are asked to leave (promptly!!!!) by 10am.
There are also quite a lot of rather telling off sounding signs with lots of exclamation marks dotted around which we found quite amusing!!!!!!
It was a really nice stay however and the view of the lake and the great location tempers the other issues.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for posting your review and nice to hear that overall your stay was a pleasent experience - just to clarify on on couple of your minor negative points - the bathroom to room 12 is private and not shared (for others reading this) and is only 3-4 steps from the room and with only one other room on this corner of the building it is unlikely that you would bump into anyone in your jim jams and we do provide bathrobes for this room too. My apologies that you only had decaf coffee in your room there is normally a choice and obviously this was missed supplies in rooms cover 2 days worth and the tray is replenished everyday so usually not many people ask for more but on the odd occassion they do we have never made an extra charge unlike lager hotels who seem to charge for all little extras - we do hope that we will see you return to New Hall Bank in the future - regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2011

A Brilliant B&B with Brilliant Hosts.We stayed here 12 years ago and decided to go back for my Husbands 40th Birthday with the same friends.Doug and Ivy made us feel welcome .Lovely home from home atmosphere.The lake view and four poster bed was the icing on the cake.Doug is very honest and will happily tell you anything you want to know.I have told all my family about New Hall Bank and they will be booking in when they go to Bowness.The Breakfast,well what can i say,you can have as little or as much as you like.Cereal,fruit,toast and the Full English absolutly great.You made My Husbands Birthday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Hi - We are so pleased that you took time to post your review and appreciate your comments and are so glad that your stay was all you expected it to be it was our pleasure and you will be very welcome to return at anytime - Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Doug and Ivy could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. Shown to our rooms and given all information quickly and professionally. Room clean, tidy and comfortable. Breakfast excellent, with good choices.
Asked a few questions regarding local food and drink and was given honest opinions, good and bad.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending New Hall Bank and will be looking to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Hi Thank you for taking a few moments to post your comments we very much appreciate your genuine comments regarding your stay - we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We arrived here ahead of a 3 day break having not been to the lakes for a number of years. First impressions were excellent, good parking facilities unlike some other b&bs. We arrived earlier than we had stated and decided to knock and check it was ok to leave car and return later to check in. was greeted by Ivy who was very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready so was able to check in. All decor was immaculate, clean and well looked after. Room was great, plenty of room, normal facilities, iron, ironing board, tv, en suite. Everything was well maintained, an obvious sense of pride in their home! Breakfasts were fabulous, good choice and flexibility of foods. Again, dining room was immaculate with great views of the lake. Very near the main attractions, "the stags head" is well recommended for evening meals, just a stones throw from the accomodation. All in all a fabulous time... Doug and Ivy are fantastic hosts and take great pride in their home. Friendly, approachable and both work extremely hard making sure their guests have everything they wish for. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Thank you guys for your very kind and welcome review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome you back at anytime - It is a pleasure to be hosts to such appreciative people of all the hard work we put in - we cannot tell you just how many times we get visitors who think that this is nothing more than a business to us - It is our home and we are very proud of it and happy to share it anytime with appreciative and respectful guests - we look forward to seeing you return sometime in the future -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We've been going to the Lakes these past twenty years and I can honestly say that was the best accommodation we have stayed in. Clean comfortable rooms, great location, breakfast was excellent, plenty of parking and Ivy and Doug, the owners were very welcoming. No complaints at all, we'll be going back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ald065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Many Thanks for your time in posting this very kind review - Doug and I look forward to welcoming you back at some future time it is always a pleasure to have the company of appreciative guests - Until next time kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in mid-August. We had a four poster room overlooking the lake which was fantastic.
The room itself had everything you needed including an en-suite bathroom but it was relatively cramped, the ensuite itself similar to the bathroom on a caravan/ motor home. Sleep quality was great, the bed one of most comfortable we have slept in anywhere! The breakfast each day was very good. The carpark was cramped, however it looked like it may have just about had enough room for each guest room.
As mentioned, the location is fantastic. It overlooks the lake and is within a 2 minute walk of Bowness centre without being on the main drag. It is very peaceful and a great base from which to explore the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyGards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
We remember you very well it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you will return in the future - thank you for posting your comments - in response we would like to just remind everyone that August is the prime holiday season and even though we have a parking bay for each room on the odd occassion people do get visitors or even arrive in 2 cars we do try to state it is one parking bay per room so at the time you where with us it may have been that the car park was "full" with "extras" - our best wishes to you for 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#13 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing