We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Hall Bank
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
166
65
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
65
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationguest houseb bview of the lakehole in the wallfull englishcar parkprivate bathroombreakfast roombreakfast was excellentperfect hostsgreat pubiron and ironing boardlake districtrestaurants and shopsset us up for the dayquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We have just got back from a three night stay over the Easter weekend. New Hall Bank guest house was clean and the room had a lovely view over the lake. Although the en-suite was small the view more than made up for this and we were aware that the en-suites were small before we arrived. The breakfast was delicious! The owners Doug and Ivy are friendly and keen to please but not intrusive. We were free to come and go as we pleased throughout our stay. There was a private car park with a space for each room. The guest house is a 2 minute walk from the centre of Bowness so is handy for restaurants, pubs and various shops and is away from any noise. We would stay here again if we are back in Bowness.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndMrsArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for New Year. Excellent location, right in the centre of Bowness with good parking available. Our room was a good size, overlooking the lake with fantastic views, and a private bathroom next door which was a very good size. We were able to watch the new year fireworks over the lake from the hotel. Ivy and Doug were really friendly and helpful, especially as we had problems with our car and ensured we were able to contact a garage on New Years Eve and drop off our car for repair. A lovely buffet was provided for guests on New Years Eve. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is two minutes walk from the Hole in the Wall pub, a lovely quaint old fashioned pub.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Thank you for your very kind comments they are much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Our stay at the New Hall Bank was really nice.
Our room was number 12 and right at the top of the house, but the view when we arrived of Lake Windermere was stunning and I would advise booking one of the superior rooms as it really makes a difference.
Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated, the only minor point is the bathroom and toilet for this room are across the hallway in different rooms which means risking pyjama clad encounters with other guests in the middle of the night.
This wasn't a huge problem for us but I can well imagine it may not be to everybody's taste.
There was also only decaff coffee in the room and a sign told us we would be charged if we asked for any more.
The owner Doug is lovely and gave us lots of helpful advice and information about what to do. He is really friendly and let us stay on the car park until after lunch on the day we left which was nice. He makes a huge difference to the experience.

Breakfast was nice but it is only served in a small window between 8.15am and 9am which means a lie in is pretty much out of the question. Especially on check out day as you are asked to leave (promptly!!!!) by 10am.
There are also quite a lot of rather telling off sounding signs with lots of exclamation marks dotted around which we found quite amusing!!!!!!
It was a really nice stay however and the view of the lake and the great location tempers the other issues.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanbag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Thank you for posting your review and nice to hear that overall your stay was a pleasent experience - just to clarify on on couple of your minor negative points - the bathroom to room 12 is private and not shared (for others reading this) and is only 3-4 steps from the room and with only one other room on this corner of the building it is unlikely that you would bump into anyone in your jim jams and we do provide bathrobes for this room too. My apologies that you only had decaf coffee in your room there is normally a choice and obviously this was missed supplies in rooms cover 2 days worth and the tray is replenished everyday so usually not many people ask for more but on the odd occassion they do we have never made an extra charge unlike lager hotels who seem to charge for all little extras - we do hope that we will see you return to New Hall Bank in the future - regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

A Brilliant B&B with Brilliant Hosts.We stayed here 12 years ago and decided to go back for my Husbands 40th Birthday with the same friends.Doug and Ivy made us feel welcome .Lovely home from home atmosphere.The lake view and four poster bed was the icing on the cake.Doug is very honest and will happily tell you anything you want to know.I have told all my family about New Hall Bank and they will be booking in when they go to Bowness.The Breakfast,well what can i say,you can have as little or as much as you like.Cereal,fruit,toast and the Full English absolutly great.You made My Husbands Birthday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Hi - We are so pleased that you took time to post your review and appreciate your comments and are so glad that your stay was all you expected it to be it was our pleasure and you will be very welcome to return at anytime - Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Doug and Ivy could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. Shown to our rooms and given all information quickly and professionally. Room clean, tidy and comfortable. Breakfast excellent, with good choices.
Asked a few questions regarding local food and drink and was given honest opinions, good and bad.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending New Hall Bank and will be looking to return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2011

Hi Thank you for taking a few moments to post your comments we very much appreciate your genuine comments regarding your stay - we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews