We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yearly escape JON AND LESLEY DONCASTER”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“yearly escape JON AND LESLEY DONCASTER”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

once again another fantastic weekend at doug and ivys . have been coming here for the past 10 years.Great food good company excellent rooms very very clean. good pub 2mins away hole int wall.will be back again next year.

Room Tip: lake view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LESLEY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Hi Guys - and long may we be able to welcome you back to New Hall Bank - always a pleasure seeing you both - until next time best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    62
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
193
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

great location for pubs and shops and places to eat. 5 mins from pier to get boat trips hire motor boats and rowing boats. the guest house is very clean with marked parking within the property walls. the rooms have small tv wallmounted with basic channels. tea and coffee making in room restocked everyday.the bed and pillows where not so good the pillows where very flat. the bathroom / toilet are very small but clean and functional.the room we had did benefit from lake view. the hosts doug and ivy are a friendly helpfull couple who will provide a full english breakfast of great quality inclusive of price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Having just stayed with Doug and Ivy for the first time, we found the hosts very pleasant, fantastic breakfast and an ideal base for touring the lakes. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was very small however but Doug said they had plans to improve bathrooms. Host is excellent with both adults and children and nothing was too much trouble. Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a larger bathroom, just ask and I'm sure Doug or Ivy would accommodate if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnNSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel after a very damp night in Wasdale and a walk in Grizedale Forest. Ivy was warm and welcoming and made us feel immediately at home. Our top floor room was very well decorated and despite banging heads on the four poster a few times it was a pleasant place to stay for the weekend. Some other reviews have commented on the size of the rooms and in particular the bathrooms - the truth is my fiance and I are both tall people and we had no problems. The shower was lovely, powerful and warm - just what you need after camping and walking.

The car park right outside the door is brillaint if like us you intended to get out in the motor and explore some of the surrounding towns and villages a bit further afield than Bowness and Ambleside.

Doug and Ivy do a great breakfast! Doug works the room with some classic Bolton charm while you know Ivy is toiling at the stove. It does every thing you want of a continental hotel combined with a classic english lakes town.

From the hotel it's easy to get out and find food and drink as we ate in pubs within walking distance and a short drive to Ambleside while we were there.

If I had any criticism I would have loved some traditional Cumbrian sausage with breakfast!!

We really enjoyed our visit and would recommend to anyone who can get the good deal we did.

Room Tip: get there early for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we stayed for 2 nights for our anniversary break. We had a room with a view overlooking the lake, which was breathtaking! Doug and Ivy were extremely helpful offering lots of local knowledge to guide us on days out etc. Breakfast was just what we needed to set us up for the day. Would Definately stay again. Another plus is that we we're located across the road from bowness's oldest tavern Hole in t' wall! Gorgeous pub!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaedwards733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Great accomodation with its own private car park. Welcoming hosts with a good knowledge of the area. Breakfast was good we were lucky to choose this place as it is 3 mins walk from Lake Windermere it was our first trip to the Lake District and it won't be our last.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was lovely it wasn't ensuite but had its own private bathroom and toilet opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastlle upon tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Fantastic 7 night stay. The hosts are friendly and helpful. Our room had an amazing view over Lake Windermere and was very very clean. The breakfasts were lovely with a great choice. Highly recommended. Be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirstytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing