We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Birthday Getaway”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Birthday Getaway”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from New Hall Bank having spent a two night stay over my birthday. Loved the location, room had a great lake view, and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Could not fault the accomodation or the standard of the food that was served. Previously, I have only been on day trips to the Lakes but decided to stay longer with my partner and loved every minute of my 'mini holiday'. Will definitely return as this hotel is a great base in the heart of the Lake District if you wish to explore surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    62
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
192
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A fab b&b, extremely welcoming hosts, lovely room, comfy bed, lake view, great breakfast. However, this was really spoiled for me as on our second of two nights we were kept awake until gone 4am with a very loud humming/buzzing in what should have been a really peaceful room. Not only was it extremely irritating, it was a vibration that gave us both fairly good headaches. When I mentioned this in the morning, the reply was that it was probably the ceiling fan from the room below (obviously had this complaint before then because they knew exactly what it was immediately). Their reply?..."I would have banged on the floor if I were you". Crazy. £200 for 2 nights away, come home more tired than I started. I would really expect at least a decent nights sleep for £100 a night. The vibration from the fan was amplified through the bed and could not be slept through before being exhausted, with make shift toilet roll ear plugs. Sorry, wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend either, unless you happen to pack ear defenders.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jk_and_georgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
thank you for your comments - the humming you say you heard in your room and which I only suggested may have been the ceiling fan from the room below but not sure as this has never been complained about before and this was only an assumption - however upon testing it to see if there was any potential future issue re. noise we found nothing to hear in the room from the ceiling fan below and can only assume you must have heard something beyond our control that kept you awake until 4am on your second morning we are sorry you had a disturbed nights sleep but we can categorically state that we found nothing to make a humming noise or indeed vibrations in the room - sorry that you feel you do not want to return but we hope that you find accommodation more suitable to your taste for your next visit - and thank you for your very kind comments left in the visitors book upon your departure obviously the only thing wrong with yopur stay was the afore mentioned humming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at the New Hall Bank for 3 nights in the family room. Very spacious room, especially for a Bowness B&B. The small shower room/toilet was the only let down but not a major problem as everyone was able to shower without any degree of difficulty. The rest of the facilities were fine, the room was well decorated and modern, beds were comfy and most importantly the place was clean. Doug & Ivy were very good hosts, very friendly and Doug was full of useful info & advice. They weren't there to greet us but had already phoned ahead to advise the reason why and made arrangements to let us get in, which was a nice touch. There was a good choice at breakfast and the mere view part of the breakfast room overlooks Windermere which is a great start to any morning. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk to the pier, some very decent pubs & restaurants and all of the other facilities in Bowness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just got back home having had 4 nights at New Hall Bank (family room for 4) This is how a Guest House should be run. Spotlessly clean throughout and decorated/furnished to a high standard. The family room was on suite, with a samll shower, basin and wc cubicle. There were two single and one double bed in the room (very, very comfy) Location could not be better and ample free parking... within a minute you are in the heart of Bowness. Breakfast was great and Doug and Ivy cannot help you enough. We have stopped at many Guest Houses over the years and this has to be one of the best. A simpy superb location, which is looked after by a very proud family...we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waligog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have had many mini-breaks over the years and the Lake District is one of our favourite locations. So far this is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. Simply cannot find fault with the hotel, staff or location. We have stayed twice this year, and have booked for next Easter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

just had a few days in bowness we chose new hall bank because of location 50 yards from town center 10 yards from hole in the wall oldest inn in bowness were charles dickens frequented we were very pleased with the standard of cleanliness of all the guesthouse the breakfast was excellent plenty more if wanted the service was first class ivy and doug were fantastic to all the guest the room was very clean had all mod cons widescreen tv iron and board kettle tea coffee milk in our honest opiinion well worth a stay we hope to return

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank codarmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
we thank you for your very kind and unbiased and unprompted comments and for you not comparing us and our facilities to a hotel - we are a guesthouse and as such are not required to be on the premises 24/7 - something many people unfortunately do not realise - see other review titled Restrictive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Needed a relaxing break, didn't get it here, the website shows a wonderful view of the lake which is why we booked, it doesn't say that this photo is taken from the garden and conservatory area which guests are not allowed to use apart from three quarters of an hour for breakfast, they are locked, as the daughter advised us mum and dad are out most of the day overseeing their retirement renovation property in newby bridge, as was proved by no meet and greet from them on arrival, the whole place is full of signs saying its their home, dos and donts, only place to see that view is if you want to sit at the bedroom window, asked to sit in the garden, told to sit on a smokers bench in the car park, only place to relax apart from bedroom is tv lounge complete with magazines on guns knives and military vehicles, not quite family mags, Doug is great at saying no to any requests with great politeness, would love to have been greeted with a caffetiere of coffee and biscuits and a smile as we are used to and all reasonable requests met, had to go out every day which was not what we wanted, needed a place where we felt at home and could relax overlooking the lake for a few days

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Hi in response to your comments - our website does show our lake view location from the back terrace however it does not indicate anywhere that the rear terrace is for public use - it is actually the only bit of private area apart from our bedroom that we have to use here i.e. for drying washing etc. but we are happy to share all other areas with our guests - as for the place being full of signs - there is an information folder in your room with things which we feel may be useful to enable you to enjoy your stay - these you usually find in all accommodations - as for the card machine being out of order this was beyond our control and the notice indicating this did say "Thank you" at the bottom for understanding the problem - our apologies if we were out when you were due to arrive but we had to meet some builders at our bungalow this could not be re-arranged and if this was an issue for you we would have appreciated you saying so at the time rather than make in issue of it on this site - as for greeting you with coffee we would suggest that you enquire if this is normal practice as it is obviously so important to you before you book your next B & B break. if my comments sound defensive they are and I do not apologise for this as I feel your remarks unjust and unfair - we thank you for your past business but feel you may find what you seek at another hotel rather than choosing a guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#1 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing