We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place and well located”
Review of New Hall Bank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hall Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant place and well located”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family and I stayed in the Family Room of the New Hall Bank B&B this summer over my birthday weekend. Location wise the guest house is in a prime spot, just 5 minutes walk away from the centre of Bowness, and even less to the brilliantly quaint "The Hole In The Wall" pub.
The building itself is a pleasant enough and in terms of layout is an "old fashioned" style of guest house with a little common room / TV room for the guests, but a modern breakfast room on the lower ground floor. If you're up early for breakfast you might be able to sit in the conservatory part of the dining area which is where the lake view is.
When we got to the breakfast room (first up) we were asked by Doug to sit elsewhere so that other families could sit as groups - no hard feelings about this because he was only trying to keep the guest as happy as possible, but in retrospect perhaps we should have asked to sit in there and insist on "first come best seated" basis. While on the subject of breakfast, service from Doug (and cooking from Ivy) was fast and efficient and the bottom line is that they were keen to keep everyone well fed and happy.
The room itself was surprisingly spacious, and nice and modern. As other reviewers have mentioned, the en-suite is a modular plastic installation in the corner of the room. I would go so far as to agree that this is a bit of a shame, since indeed it is very small (and the room can afford bigger) and a little "plastic" and not really in keeping with the room. That said, it's perfectly functional (and the shower is really good), and when weighed up against shared bathrooms, personally I still feel it's better to have this - which is convenient, clean, and private. Hopefully any future renovations will be able to consider a constructed en-suite, but until then it's not as big a deal as some have made out - I understand the limitations, and it's a welcome feature.
In terms of other room facilities, iron, ironing board, and coffee/tea/biscuits were provided, and there was a small flat screen TV mounted on the wall (but realistically a bit too small by modern standards). We were rained in early one evening so a decent TV was something we could have made use of - but the fact we opted to stay in and have an early night gives some indication of the comfort we felt in the room.
All in all, it's not faultless but I enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamButty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hi Guys and thank you for your feedback we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable and welcomed and we do hope to see you again - as in your comments we are one of the very many Lakeland guesthouses that was built in the Victorian era and in the style of a gentleman's residence and we would not wish to change this by following todays trend of minimalistic décor -we pride ourselves on offering a home from home atmosphere - we do believe that we provide all relevant facilities needed to enjoy a short break with us and all be it that things may not always be to everyone's taste we seem to get a high percentage of repeat business - -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    62
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
193
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just returned from New Hall Bank having spent a two night stay over my birthday. Loved the location, room had a great lake view, and the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Could not fault the accomodation or the standard of the food that was served. Previously, I have only been on day trips to the Lakes but decided to stay longer with my partner and loved every minute of my 'mini holiday'. Will definitely return as this hotel is a great base in the heart of the Lake District if you wish to explore surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A fab b&b, extremely welcoming hosts, lovely room, comfy bed, lake view, great breakfast. However, this was really spoiled for me as on our second of two nights we were kept awake until gone 4am with a very loud humming/buzzing in what should have been a really peaceful room. Not only was it extremely irritating, it was a vibration that gave us both fairly good headaches. When I mentioned this in the morning, the reply was that it was probably the ceiling fan from the room below (obviously had this complaint before then because they knew exactly what it was immediately). Their reply?..."I would have banged on the floor if I were you". Crazy. £200 for 2 nights away, come home more tired than I started. I would really expect at least a decent nights sleep for £100 a night. The vibration from the fan was amplified through the bed and could not be slept through before being exhausted, with make shift toilet roll ear plugs. Sorry, wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend either, unless you happen to pack ear defenders.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jk_and_georgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
thank you for your comments - the humming you say you heard in your room and which I only suggested may have been the ceiling fan from the room below but not sure as this has never been complained about before and this was only an assumption - however upon testing it to see if there was any potential future issue re. noise we found nothing to hear in the room from the ceiling fan below and can only assume you must have heard something beyond our control that kept you awake until 4am on your second morning we are sorry you had a disturbed nights sleep but we can categorically state that we found nothing to make a humming noise or indeed vibrations in the room - sorry that you feel you do not want to return but we hope that you find accommodation more suitable to your taste for your next visit - and thank you for your very kind comments left in the visitors book upon your departure obviously the only thing wrong with yopur stay was the afore mentioned humming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at the New Hall Bank for 3 nights in the family room. Very spacious room, especially for a Bowness B&B. The small shower room/toilet was the only let down but not a major problem as everyone was able to shower without any degree of difficulty. The rest of the facilities were fine, the room was well decorated and modern, beds were comfy and most importantly the place was clean. Doug & Ivy were very good hosts, very friendly and Doug was full of useful info & advice. They weren't there to greet us but had already phoned ahead to advise the reason why and made arrangements to let us get in, which was a nice touch. There was a good choice at breakfast and the mere view part of the breakfast room overlooks Windermere which is a great start to any morning. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk to the pier, some very decent pubs & restaurants and all of the other facilities in Bowness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just got back home having had 4 nights at New Hall Bank (family room for 4) This is how a Guest House should be run. Spotlessly clean throughout and decorated/furnished to a high standard. The family room was on suite, with a samll shower, basin and wc cubicle. There were two single and one double bed in the room (very, very comfy) Location could not be better and ample free parking... within a minute you are in the heart of Bowness. Breakfast was great and Doug and Ivy cannot help you enough. We have stopped at many Guest Houses over the years and this has to be one of the best. A simpy superb location, which is looked after by a very proud family...we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waligog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have had many mini-breaks over the years and the Lake District is one of our favourite locations. So far this is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. Simply cannot find fault with the hotel, staff or location. We have stayed twice this year, and have booked for next Easter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

just had a few days in bowness we chose new hall bank because of location 50 yards from town center 10 yards from hole in the wall oldest inn in bowness were charles dickens frequented we were very pleased with the standard of cleanliness of all the guesthouse the breakfast was excellent plenty more if wanted the service was first class ivy and doug were fantastic to all the guest the room was very clean had all mod cons widescreen tv iron and board kettle tea coffee milk in our honest opiinion well worth a stay we hope to return

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank codarmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemeeCumbria, Owner at New Hall Bank, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
we thank you for your very kind and unbiased and unprompted comments and for you not comparing us and our facilities to a hotel - we are a guesthouse and as such are not required to be on the premises 24/7 - something many people unfortunately do not realise - see other review titled Restrictive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Bank

Property: New Hall Bank
Address: Fallbarrow Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lake Windermere - 4 star accommodation -Rooms with Lake Views - Parking - En-suite rooms equiped with all you need to ensure a comfortable stay - 1 min shops/bars/attractions - Full English Breakfast - No Pets - Children over 8yrs only. internet in guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Hall Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
New Hall Bank Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing